Amateur Radio Operators Removing Their Equipment From ARC Vehicles

Status
Not open for further replies.

ARCDATMAN

Duplicate Account
Banned
I heard a rumor that amateur radio operators affiliated with American Red Cross operations have been removing or already have removed their communications equipment from American Red Cross vehicles, I asked my DAT supervisor & he said "no comment", I sent an e-mail to the regional IT man & he also said "No comment", anybody here care to comment? I would appreciate it since I am studying for my amateur exam & want to transition from DAT field work to disaster communications, thanks in advance.

American Red Cross | Help Those Affected by Disasters

W8RMH

Feed Provider Since 2012
It depends on the chapter. In my area the ARC has access to state and county public safety systems so the use of amateur isn't as popular as it used to be however amateur systems may be the only systems available during a disaster, such as HF. Most vehicles only have the PS systems and/or the ARC low band radios but their communications truck has numerous systems, both PS and amateur.

kd7kdc

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Personal radios can not be installed in any National Red Cross vehicles only local chapter supplied vehicles.

W8RMH

Feed Provider Since 2012
Personal radios can not be installed in any National Red Cross vehicles only local chapter supplied vehicles.
These amateur radios are not personal radios they belong to the ARC, installed, maintained, and operated by the American Red Cross Amateur Radio Club, unless by "National" you are referring to the ERVs which are deployed to national disaster areas, which only have the low band radios.

Last edited:

N5TWB