Kansas City Mentor Elmer

Status
Not open for further replies.

wrbowling2

I recently moved to the KC area (northland, near Gladstone). Am trying to get thru the ARRL Ham Radio License Manual for the Tech exam. But I want to actually *learn* when I am reading.

So looking for a Mentor (aka Elmer, right? - if Elmer is offensive I apologize, I'm a very newbie guy in his 40s to all this).

Post here or email me at wrbowling2@gmail.com. I am happy to pay for lessons, I can't find any local club via the arrl website where study sessions are available. That said, I'm sure the site isn't 100% up to the minute. I'd pay a local chapter too. I don't expect something for nothing.

My first objective is to use my license for storm spotting (not chasing), then into Dxing. I have a family friend in south-central Missouri with several atennae in an array at the stop of a large hill. My interest came as he and his wife traveled and then I moved with my family.

K4EET

Chaplain
<snip> Am trying to get thru the ARRL Ham Radio License Manual for the Tech exam. But I want to actually *learn* when I am reading.

That is great to hear. Some folks memorize answers and short-change themselves by not understanding the roots of the hobby.

So looking for a Mentor (aka Elmer, right? - if Elmer is offensive I apologize, I'm a very newbie guy in his 40s to all this).

"Elmer" is the correct word in ham radio. No offense whatsoever...

<snip> I am happy to pay for lessons, I can't find any local club via the arrl website where study sessions are available. That said, I'm sure the site isn't 100% up to the minute. I'd pay a local chapter too. I don't expect something for nothing.

Generally speaking, an Elmer is not going to charge you anything. Clubs included. I am "elmering" two individuals on RadioReference right now. If you cannot find anybody else, I'd be happy to elmer you on Skype.