WS1040

Status
Not open for further replies.

KD7JVRinAZ

Premium Subscriber
I just got a WS1040 from Amazon yesterday. I am a ham operator, so I know a lot about conventional radio, but the digital trunked stuff has totally got me baffled. I have a handheld using the stock rubber- ducky antenna (unfortunately, an external antenna is out of the question). My QTH is Scottsdale/Osborn. I am literally across the street from the hospital. I use PSREdit software, bought and paid for. After progamming the scanner for Scottsdale, MCS0, DPS, Phoenix PF & Fire, Tempe, Chandler, Pinal County and some airccraft, I am not getting much TRS traffic and only SOME DPS. When I program site locations, should I use Thompson or Simulcast H: Scottsdale or both or what? I'm not sure how that works. I would think that I can get Thompson Peak just fine. I DO get MCSO pretty oftend and very, very sporatic Phx PD and SOMETIMES Phx Fire Digital. The TRS traffic that I do get is full quieting. In scan mode, the S meter is full bars. Is there maybe a signal strength setting I need to write to the radio? I am disappointed with my new toy. Can somebody please help?

Perhaps its my QTH.

KB7MIB

One issue with simulcast systems, is that your scanner is receiving the same data from multiple transmitter sites, all slightly out of phase, so each signal interferes with the others. This is multi-path interference.
Unless you are in exactly the right spot, or you can put up a directional antenna and figure out the best direction to point it in, in order to isolate just one of the simulcast transmitter sites and null the others within range, your reception of the RWC simulcast system will be hit or miss. You'll have to walk around inside your house to figure out the best spot to locate your scanner.

As for what to program, you want Simulcast H for all of Scottsdale PD. The Thompson Peak IR site only carries the North channel. You may hear some Scottsdale TG's on Simulcast B as well.