BCD436HP Junk?

Status
Not open for further replies.

KB7TV0

My first post. I work as a volunteer EMS operator in the Tucson area. I purchased a Uniden BCD436HP about three years ago to monitor local EMS and emergency traffic. The radio seems to be total junk. The communications sound completely garbled, especially PCSO and Tucson Police. I get no TFD reception.

Any suggestions?

I have recently uploaded the revised database.

It there a good handheld scanner that is not as complex and difficult to program?

Thanks in advance.

W.

tumegpc

Premium Subscriber
My first post. I work as a volunteer EMS operator in the Tucson area. I purchased a Uniden BCD436HP about three years ago to monitor local EMS and emergency traffic. The radio seems to be total junk. The communications sound completely garbled, especially PCSO and Tucson Police. I get no TFD reception.

Any suggestions?

I have recently uploaded the revised database.

It there a good handheld scanner that is not as complex and difficult to program?

Thanks in advance.

W.

I feel that the 436HP has finally matured and is very
good scanner. If you want something a simpler to use ,the Whistler TRX-1 is another option. If it's simulcast distortion giving you trouble then your options would be the Unication G-5 or the Uniden SDS100 ( not recommended) .

KK4JUG

Premium Subscriber
That scanner is an excellent receiver. The fact that you don't know how to program it or the local radio system are not what you expected shouldn't reflect on the radio. Like Tumegpc said, it's probably simulcast problems. Uniden has a scanner to deal with simulcast.

Many radio systems are complicated now. The scanners designed to receive those transmissions must also be somewhat complicated. Deal with it.

DJ11DLN