NSW RFS / SES with GME TX6500S?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bitmorechoke

Hi, newbie here, name's Neil. Sorry for all the TLA's in the title :0)

I'm active with my local RFS brigade in the flatlands (and redgum forests) of the Southern Riverina. I don't have an easy line to technical answers through the service though so I'm hoping that between Google and the good folks of this forum I can get myself up to speed.

The first thing I'd like to understand is whether I can monitor our local 'firecom' PMR without a service issued device. According to the info at https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?aid=1030 we use a frequency around the 412 MHz mark (I confess I don't understand the BM or FMN references on that chart). I don't believe it is a trunked system, but could there be any other encoding in play that would prevent me just tuning in and listening with any old scanner?

Secondly, I'm also involved with the local SES unit, although it is rarely active (and I'll have one of their handhelds whenever it is) so I have less need to monitor them on my own equipment. It also seems like the SES have done several comms upgrades in recent years, so they might not be so easy to tune into, but obviously I will if I can. The info at https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?aid=1029 suggests a frequency around 468 MHz.

Finally, I'm considering the GME TX6500S for this (https://www.gme.net.au/catalogue/hand-held-radios/tx6500s.aspx). I'm assuming that I can use it like a normal UHFCB on the fireground, with the advantage of also hearing firecom activity by setting up a simple group scan with our regular UHFCB channel and the firecom channel, and that any attempt to transmit will jump me back to the CB. Am I on the right track?

longreach

Feed Provider
Hi Neil,