RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Budget and Entry Level Transceivers

Budget and Entry Level Transceivers - For discussion of budget or entry level radios such as Baofeng, Wouxun, Puxing and other radio communications designated as commercial but not targeted for Amateur or GMRS. Also included are MURS and ISM 900MHz designed radios.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-29-2018, 10:23 AM

Default BF-888S, Trying to mirror Kenwood NX340

Hello All, I am an absolute newbie to all of this but I have been tasked with setting up some newly purchased Baofeng BF-888S radios. We purchased them to supplement our existing complement of Kenwood NX340UK radios that we use here at work. I am completely in over my head and am struggling.
I have installed the CHIRP application and have the serial cable working.
I can read from the BF888S.
I can’t read from the Kenwood.
I tried to edit the settings on the image file from the 888 and successfully changed the frequency numbers in the correct locations but there are other fields that do not show in the “drop-downs” For example Tone on the Kenwood is RAN1, not an option.. Mode is set to FM and I can’t change it to UHF, etc..
Any help would be appreciated
Sponsored links
Old 06-29-2018, 11:20 AM
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider

The radios you bought don't do NXDN. Basically you are out of luck.
Old 06-29-2018, 11:27 AM

Ouch
That is sure disappointing.. I didn’t buy them but the person that did was well intentioned. Oh well I guess that I have some new radios for hunting this fall

Thanks for the prompt reply
Old 06-29-2018, 11:29 AM
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio

not to mention the BF888 is illegal for any service in the US except Part 97 amateur radio, for which you must be licenced
Old 06-29-2018, 12:07 PM