antenna analyzer

Status
Not open for further replies.

john5990

Premium Subscriber
so i'm looking to see what others use, I'm gonna be building afew different ones for my scanner. 115-137 150-160 224-400.. I'm not looking for people to tell me just by a wide band.. this is not for Tx on just Rx only..

Golay

Second the motion

I have the MFJ-249 analyzer. It's over 20 years old, but still does a good job.
Do you have the formulas for sizing the elements for your experiments?

I also have this analyzer. Has worked well for everything I've wanted to do.
But I believe you said you want to get up to 440. The 249 will not go that high.
Take a look at the MFJ-269 (which I've never owned). It will go up to 512.

Last edited:

paulears

I've been doing radio since 1978 - I got my first analyser in 2015, and while it's good for telling me where the thing resonates for receive, it still 'suggests' an antenna is good that is, in fact pretty useless. All I have ever done is get to know what permanent sources exist in my area in each band - airfields, coastguards, telemetry, repeaters and even interference sources - These give me a far better result in any new antenna installation I do at home. I can tell if I've got a bit more at UHF, but have lost airband, or improved marine band at the expense of UHF. A coax switch to select between two antennas is also a great way to check a new one. The analyser did tell me that one design of antenna I'd been building for years I had always been cutting too long, and they all were resonant below the frequency I'd made them for - but the VSWR seemed fine, and they worked.

They're very good devices - myChinese one seems very revealing in what it displays - but it's not a vital piece of test gear.

jwt873

Premium Subscriber
I wouldn't bother with an antenna analyzer for receive only antennas. Impedance and SWR aren't near as critical for receiving as they are for transmitting.