Best style antenna to improve FM recption?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BellyUpFish

Hey guys-

Maybe someone can help me. I'm a complete noob to antennae.

Long story short, I live in a small town that had 2 radio stations worth listening to. Well, they just changed formats on my favorite station and I'm forced to move over to a different station. 107.3, to be exact. Occasionally 102.7 is worth listening to.

I've also got an old school Sony ST-80 that I'm kinda partial to as the tuner.

I'd like to build an antenna to get the best reception. Mounting it in the attic is no problem. Mounting it outside, could be made to work, but I'd rather keep it in the attic, if possible.

I get "decent" reception now, I can listen to the station, but it's got a fair amount of static along with it.

Anyone have a suggestion as to the best type of antenna to look towards?

Bazooka? Loop? Di-pole?

Thanks

Belly

KenMaltz

Premium Subscriber
Best FM Antenna

You don't indicate which type of antenna you currently are using, which would be helpful to know. However, if both the stations you want to listen to are in the same general direction from your home, a Yagi (beam) would be the best type because it is a directional antenna and would give you gain. If your intended stations are in different directions you would either have to rotate your Yagi or use a non-directional antenna. You could easily build or buy a dipole for FM broadcast reception. It wouldn't give you much gain but it would favor stations perpendicular to the elements.

Ken, KC2YRJ

Ubbe

Here in Sweden the goverment controlled station transmitters use horizontal polarised antennas and the commercial stations use vertical dipoles. Many house owners then choose to use a folded dipole that look like a Z to let half the antenna work as a horizontal polarised and the other half as a vertical.

I guess US only use vertical antennas in the FM broadcast towers?

What antenna and position of it do you use now?

/Ubbe