New and need help - monterey

Status
Not open for further replies.

RENEGADEPETIE

Hi all, I am new to this. But I bought a Baofeng radio. I know that i cant really get into things until im licensed so im using it as a scanner. I figured out how to program it using the CHIRP software and programmed my county and local cities directly from this site after I upgraded my membership. This is the police and EMS stuff i programmed. I looks like I am picking up county fire and sheriff but im not picking up any local city traffic. Perhaps i ned to do some additional programming ?? I am in the Monterey area , specifically zip codes 93940, 93955, 93923, 93901 , that area. If someone could point me in the right direction or knows whats going on here it would be much appreciated

kma371

QRT
Which "local city" traffic are you referring to? Monterey specifically, or all of them?

The database shows they are using the VHF/700 MHz trunked system, which you would not be able to receive on that radio. If they are no longer using the analog VHF frequencies, the DB may need to be updated.

RENEGADEPETIE

Still figuring THIS system out.... but im trying to get Monterey, Seaside, Del Rey Oaks, Sand City, Carmel and Salinas.

RENEGADEPETIE

Thanks guys .... this is just to kill time until I get my license, gives me a chance to play with the radio a bit in the meantime

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
Thanks guys .... this is just to kill time until I get my license, gives me a chance to play with the radio a bit in the meantime

There's still a lot of VHF analog traffic around the bay. Depending on your exact location, you should be able to pick up traffic out of Santa Cruz county. All public safety users in SCC are on VHF analog.

RENEGADEPETIE

I'm in Sand City , very close to the beach , I could probably pick them up, I may try that this weekend just to get comfortable with programming the radio if anything. I discovered that the CHIRP software in conjunction with this site makes it very easy to do.