RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > CB Radio Forum


CB Radio Forum - Discussions regarding Citizens Band Radio (CB)

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-11-2017, 6:00 PM
freqs's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: warren michigan
Posts: 1,198
Red face co phase pl259

I have a 2116 Kenworth the Coax connector to the radio had been cut off .I would like to fix it to use my CB ...it is a co phase antenna Dual Coax .Is the pl59 diff for dual coax that single .Ive been told I could use a regular pl259 is this true or do I have to get a special pl59
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2017, 12:21 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: plant city florida
Posts: 75
Default

i used a regular pl259,, i stripped back the coax the length of the fitting then strip the center to the length of the end i twisted the center together and soldered then put solder on the sheild and put into the pl259 and soldered it in,,, it worked for me,, little complicated but with a little work ya can get it to work,,,
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2017, 6:48 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 126
Default

The fittings are similar, only the coax is different in the cophased system. You will probably need a connector with the removable reducer so that you can get the paired coax fully inserted.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2017, 8:06 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Mojave Ca
Posts: 632
Default

Yeah what Kf4eyr said! I have used a single normal type PL-259 connector, just have to strip the coaxes back to fit. Its not easy but doable. Good Luck.

Jay in the Mojave
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2017, 10:35 AM
muskrat39's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: north central Indiana
Posts: 1,146
Default

You could just put a PL259 on each antenna lead, then connect both leads to a T connector. Then just use a short jumper to the radio
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2017, 10:40 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 5,971
Default

The coax on a co-phase harness should be RG-59 75 ohm and it needs to be a specific length. If the cables were cut right at the connector so you only lost an inch, then you should be fine attaching another connector. If the harness was shortened significantly then you might have problems matching the antennas.
prcguy
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-23-2017, 6:37 PM
freqs's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: warren michigan
Posts: 1,198
Default

i could just use 1 antenna leave the other dead.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2017, 12:52 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Reading, PA
Posts: 126
Default

You will have to change coax to use one antenna...

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-24-2017, 3:04 PM
MCore25's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lone Star Republic
Posts: 2,401
Default

Easiest way would be to use two UHF connectors (with reducers) and a T. Since the co-phase harness was cut close to the original connector, the losses should be minimal.
__________________
If a repeater IDs and no one is on frequency to hear it, does it even make a sound? Yes, because KC5MVZ is monitoring you…
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-02-2017, 5:31 PM
freqs's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: warren michigan
Posts: 1,198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MCore25 View Post
Easiest way would be to use two UHF connectors (with reducers) and a T. Since the co-phase harness was cut close to the original connector, the losses should be minimal.
ok I was thinking on doing that but wasnt sure how it would work .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions