RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > CB Radio Forum

CB Radio Forum - Discussions regarding Citizens Band Radio (CB)

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-20-2018, 2:26 AM
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio

Default What would make a good aftermarket, third-party microphone for my car CB radio?

Hi,
I'm new to using a CB radio in my car. What would be a good third-party, after-market microphone that would give my signal more talk power or 'punch'? My current radio is a Uniden Bearcat 980 SSB if that would make a difference or not.......
Thank you
Sponsored links
Old 05-20-2018, 5:47 AM

Cant fo wrong with Astatic IMHO. But then again thats been my default microphone for years....... I am not currently running a power mic mobile so have no experience with the Bearcat 980 in that setting. The D-104 works well for me as a base but would be unmanageable mobile..... :-(
Old 05-20-2018, 11:49 AM
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc0bus View Post
Hi,
I'm new to using a CB radio in my car. What would be a good third-party, after-market microphone that would give my signal more talk power or 'punch'? My current radio is a Uniden Bearcat 980 SSB if that would make a difference or not.......
Thank you

I think the stock microphone is good. There are Youtube videos showing how to tweak the modulation.
Old 06-18-2018, 2:36 AM