RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > CB Radio Forum


CB Radio Forum - Discussions regarding Citizens Band Radio (CB)

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-10-2018, 7:01 PM
Ravenkeeper's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Antelope Valley, CA
Posts: 124
Default Antenna on Headache Rack/Roll Bar

Got my new (replacement) truck. I’m looking at putting my antenna on top of the headache rack, or roll bar that I’m going to install by the end of the year. Other owners of the same rack/bar, have said that I can run either a magnet mount or NMO. If I reuse my 4ft Firestik, the tip will be 10’6”, definitely won’t be able to hit the drive-thrus. Debating on getting a 2’ Firestik, if I go NMO. Otherwise, I may get a K40.

Looking for suggestions.
__________________
“Desert Raven” 111
Antelope Valley, CA
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-10-2018, 7:18 PM
prcguy's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6,804
Default

Antennas on roll bars never tune up right because the ground plane from the bar is very inadequate. This goes for CB through VHF antennas. A UHF antenna would probably match up ok.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ravenkeeper View Post
Got my new (replacement) truck. I’m looking at putting my antenna on top of the headache rack, or roll bar that I’m going to install by the end of the year. Other owners of the same rack/bar, have said that I can run either a magnet mount or NMO. If I reuse my 4ft Firestik, the tip will be 10’6”, definitely won’t be able to hit the drive-thrus. Debating on getting a 2’ Firestik, if I go NMO. Otherwise, I may get a K40.

Looking for suggestions.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-10-2018, 7:43 PM
cmdrwill's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: So Cali
Posts: 2,946
Default

Not enough groundplane for your CB antenna on a "headache rack".

You would be much better with a NMO27 on the roof.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-10-2018, 8:47 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 519
Default

The shorter the antenna, the worse the performance.
......
You would be far better off with a K40 or longer firestick
on the bed rail.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-10-2018, 9:03 PM
Rt169Radio's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 2,760
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MOTEX View Post
The shorter the antenna, the worse the performance.
......
You would be far better off with a K40 or longer firestick
on the bed rail.
I second that! Or a Wilson brand one.

https://www.walcottradio.com/wilson-antenna-m-27.html
__________________
My Equipment & Bio- http://www.radioreference.com/apps/user/Rt169Radio/bio
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-12-2018, 5:05 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Upper Mojave,CA/NV
Posts: 227
Default

There's a local who runs a Wilson 5000 with a ground plane radial kit on the headache bar, that he had a mounting plate welded to. It works quite well for him.

https://www.amazon.com/Pro-Trucker-G...N039RRG537C184

They sell one for use with a firestik as well, but I have no idea if they work or not.

Last edited by swen_out_west; 10-12-2018 at 5:37 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-12-2018, 5:10 PM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: WTVLCA01DS0
Posts: 9,270
Default

Those are no where big enough to provide a proper ground plane at 27MHz.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-12-2018, 5:40 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: Upper Mojave,CA/NV
Posts: 227
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmckenna View Post
Those are no where big enough to provide a proper ground plane at 27MHz.
You are right, but a little is better than nothing apparently. His system is comparable to being on a mag mount stuck on the roof. I actually run one on my Wilson 5000 mag mount and there is a significant increase.

I say that it's comparable to a mag mount, because if you do a regular mount to the roof of course that's the best way.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-12-2018, 9:36 PM
Ravenkeeper's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Antelope Valley, CA
Posts: 124
Default

I may just run with what I had on my previous truck. Either way, I'm looking at getting a "hard" tonneau cover, aluminum(?)/metal in the sections under the leather. I was hitting about 6 miles NW of Lancaster, as I was driving around.

My quest continues.
__________________
“Desert Raven” 111
Antelope Valley, CA
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2018, 5:24 PM
RodStrong's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,073
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrwill View Post
Not enough groundplane for your CB antenna on a "headache rack".

You would be much better with a NMO27 on the roof.
+1

Good luck.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions