RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > CB Radio Forum


CB Radio Forum - Discussions regarding Citizens Band Radio (CB)

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2018, 5:40 PM
Was emtfirebug14
   
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 80
Default ltd 29 ugrades

hey yall im looking to put my cb back into my truck. i bought it about11 years and the guy i bought it from did some mods to it but left the final stock. im looking to do some minor upgrades to it one being a way to just get a little more power out of it
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2018, 6:07 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: plant city florida
Posts: 111
Default

do a swing kit then buy an amp,,,,,,,,
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2018, 7:34 PM
cmdrwill's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: So Cali
Posts: 2,986
Default

Federal Communications Regulations:
You may not raise the power output of a CB transmitter.
You may not attach a "linear," "linear amplifier" or any other type
of power amplifier to your CB transmitter.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2018, 7:48 PM
mule1075's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Washington Pa
Posts: 2,768
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmdrwill View Post
Federal Communications Regulations:
You may not raise the power output of a CB transmitter.
You may not attach a "linear," "linear amplifier" or any other type
of power amplifier to your CB transmitter.
Frequently ignored.
__________________
Uniden SDS100/780XLT Motorola HT1000/GM360 Whistler TRX-1
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2018, 7:50 PM
Was emtfirebug14
   
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 80
Default

Ok so let me rephrase what I'm looking to do. I'm looking to get a little more distance out of my radio with out going over the top
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2018, 8:40 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,118
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by njffemt08 View Post
Ok so let me rephrase what I'm looking to do. I'm looking to get a little more distance out of my radio with out going over the top
Tune an match your antenna providing an optimal ground plane.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2018, 10:19 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Project25_MASTR View Post
Tune an match your antenna providing an optimal ground plane.
This. You would be amazed at how little actual range improvement you get from increasing the power.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2018, 12:20 AM
prcguy's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 6,949
Default

Or just get a Texas Star Modulator V-Plus. You can adjust it for just about any key down carrier power you want like around 10w and under modulation it will go up to about 60-70 watts. Makes a nice statement at the other end and seems to add a bit of punch to your signal. Street price about $75.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kf4eyr View Post
do a swing kit then buy an amp,,,,,,,,
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions