Div Fire P&C

Status
Not open for further replies.

kenisned

Premium Subscriber
Hey alll, moved here a few years ago. I was a 20+ year firefighter and am curious as to how the wildland response is organized here in CO.

I have all the local FD’s programmed here in Arapahoe (South Metro by me)..

How do I listen to the CO DIv of Fire Prevention and Control wildland assets? Don’t see them referenced in the database.

Thanks

Spitfire8520

I might be completely clueless! =)
DFPC inherited all the Colorado State Forest Service talkgroups when they took over all the wildfire responsibilities from them. They are not used often, so it has been a long and slow process to identify them. They also maintain some VHF simplex frequencies, but those ones are pretty hard to hear and identify.

As for wildland response, it depends on where the incident occurs. Federal land usually gets a federal response and local areas get local response. Large local incidents typically gets called into the Interagency Dispatch Center that covers the area so that they can tap into federal resources. If the incident gets big enough, an IMT can be ordered and will takeover the incident from the local command.

DPFC largely plays a support role at incidents if they get big enough. They have some engines and crews, but most of their contributions to incidents are administrative support and air resources controlled by the state.

Spitfire8520

I might be completely clueless! =)
Local FDs will be the most active in the initial attack phase, which is pretty much the first day of the incident. Mutual aid channels (MAC) and other mutual aid frequencies (Simplex, STAC, 8CALL/TAC, VFIRE, etc) will also be used if the incident requires significant mutual aid resources.

If air resources get involved, those might be heard on the VFIRE or one of the NIFC A/G frequencies.