RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Site Administration Forums > Database Discussion Forum


Database Discussion Forum - This forum is for questions about the database such as how to use it, layout or usability issues or suggestions for improvement. It is not for pointing out wrong information or getting help with programming.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2014, 5:45 PM
davenlr's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: North Little Rock, Ar
Posts: 637
Default Cant read database on android

I tried to pull up the Frequency database on my smartphone today, and it displayed the welcome page, then immediately popped up a dialog that I needed to upgrade flash. I clicked OK, and it said Flash is not available for my device. How can I access the database on a smartphone, that apparently isnt very smart?
__________________
Scanners: BCD536HP BCD436HP BCT15
Ham: HTX-212 Yaesu 757 Kenwood B2000
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2014, 6:21 PM
bravo14's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Lower part of the NW FL area
Posts: 2,894
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davenlr View Post
I tried to pull up the Frequency database on my smartphone today, and it displayed the welcome page, then immediately popped up a dialog that I needed to upgrade flash. I clicked OK, and it said Flash is not available for my device. How can I access the database on a smartphone, that apparently isnt very smart?
Here is a sample what I use on my iPhone.
__________________
Radios Alinco DJ-X10T IC-F43GT BCD396XT PSR-800 BCD536HP BCD436HP HomePatrol-1
YouTube http://www.youtube.com/user/staugfl1991 (videos)
YouTube http://www.youtube.com/user/scannerfreak91 (Scanners)

Last edited by bravo14; 08-26-2017 at 2:59 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2014, 6:38 PM
davenlr's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: North Little Rock, Ar
Posts: 637
Default

That is the page I pulled up, and when I clicked on that Frequency Database, it showed the following screen for a split second before the prompt for flash came up. Then when it says the flash is not available, it dumps me back on the home page.
__________________
Scanners: BCD536HP BCD436HP BCT15
Ham: HTX-212 Yaesu 757 Kenwood B2000
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2014, 7:30 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Northern Ohio
Posts: 1,315
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davenlr View Post
That is the page I pulled up, and when I clicked on that Frequency Database, it showed the following screen for a split second before the prompt for flash came up. Then when it says the flash is not available, it dumps me back on the home page.
Use Firefox as your browser for the Database and install an old version of Flashplayer that works with Firefox and you can then view the database.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2014, 7:37 PM
trsundstrom's Avatar
Mentor
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burlington County, NJ
Posts: 1,444
Default

Wirelessly posted (Moto Droid Bionic: Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 4.1.2; en-us; DROID BIONIC Build/9.8.2O-72_VZW-22) AppleWebKit/534.30 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/534.30)

I don't know what Android version you have on your phone. I use the HTML5 Dolphin browser on this Android phone. I know the question of Adobe Flash has recently surfaced on the RR forums and in numerous tech forums. You can find links to Flash APK files and installation instructions by searching the 'net.

The one caveat is I think I read somewhere the very latest Android OS will not support the last of the Flash APK files out there. But the worst that happens is you waste a bit of time searching.

HTH.
__________________
Tom - W2XQ - w2xq.com
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2014, 8:54 PM
davenlr's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: North Little Rock, Ar
Posts: 637
Default

Why do they need FLASH on a website for looking up data in the first place? Just so you can click on the state map to select your state? Im not a cell phone guy. The phone says Samsung SGH-i727 Android 4.0.4. I guess Ill just download the database and save it as a pdf file, so I can pull it up on my phone. I dont have any idea what an APK file is, and its my work phone, so I dont think Im going to try to do anything to cute on it. I downloaded Photon browser, and it appears to work after wasting 30 minutes watching an ad before I could use it

I really dont know why people use Flash on websites, since its been discontinued, and doesnt support a lot of platforms.
__________________
Scanners: BCD536HP BCD436HP BCT15
Ham: HTX-212 Yaesu 757 Kenwood B2000
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2014, 9:15 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Michigan
Posts: 1,245
Default

Flash has not been discontinued and is still used on the majority of computers. It has been discontinued for Android and shunned by Apple, but it is still very much alive. It is also often used as an attack point for malware and therefore has many updates for security reasons.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2014, 9:21 PM
davenlr's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: North Little Rock, Ar
Posts: 637
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaspence View Post
Flash has not been discontinued and is still used on the majority of computers. It has been discontinued for Android and shunned by Apple, but it is still very much alive. It is also often used as an attack point for malware and therefore has many updates for security reasons.
Well, since android and apple make up like 99% of tablet and cell phone users, and video is pretty much intended for those users (video as in Comcast to go, etc), why use a format your intended users cant use? Just seems like they could find something better and still 100% supported.
__________________
Scanners: BCD536HP BCD436HP BCT15
Ham: HTX-212 Yaesu 757 Kenwood B2000
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-09-2014, 7:22 PM
lowboy654's Avatar
DB Admin Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northwest, WA
Posts: 2,219
Default

Please note this has came up often here, Adobe no longer supports the android operating system with its flash player plug in.
Please read here to.
http://forums.radioreference.com/dat...out-flash.html
__________________
If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
Ken
Data Admin
lowboy654@radioreference.com
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2015, 4:38 AM
bryan_herbert's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Las Vegas, NV. DM26jc
Posts: 834
Default

Click the MOBILE link next to the LOGIN link at the top of the page and you can access the database that way. You just wont be able to access any maps.
__________________
Bryan Herbert - KE6ZGP | WQKW261
http://twitter.com/ke6zgp
http://bryanherbert.com
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2015, 4:47 AM
muskrat39's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: north central Indiana
Posts: 1,146
Default

Flash is only for the map portion. Click cancel. Instead of OK. And the page will load. That is how it works on my Nexus. I won't download flash, because there is a nasty virus called the FBI virus that hides as a flash upgrade. It will lock your android up.

Last edited by muskrat39; 02-22-2015 at 4:52 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-04-2015, 9:57 AM
   
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
Default

i am having same problem
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions