understanding database/trunked systems

Status
Not open for further replies.

alok

I am new to this and hearing on a regular scanner radio ,unable to follow trunk systems.
I'm looking up Trunked Systems in my area in the database. I see RED frequencies in RED ,a mention of BLUE frequencies ,but see none in BLUE ( I understand that these are MAIN & ALTERNATE CONTROL FREQUECIES ) is this where I'd hear the constant data ?
I also see frequencies in BLACK ,are the frequencies in black the open frequencies where I'd hear the Trunked System communications on a regular radio but naturally unable to follow it ... these black frequencies being controlled by the frequency mentioned in RED ?

Am I understanding this correctly ?

Al

troymail

Silent Key
I am new to this and hearing on a regular scanner radio ,unable to follow trunk systems.
I'm looking up Trunked Systems in my area in the database. I see RED frequencies in RED ,a mention of BLUE frequencies ,but see none in BLUE ( I understand that these are MAIN & ALTERNATE CONTROL FREQUECIES ) is this where I'd hear the constant data ?
I also see frequencies in BLACK ,are the frequencies in black the open frequencies where I'd hear the Trunked System communications on a regular radio but naturally unable to follow it ... these black frequencies being controlled by the frequency mentioned in RED ?

Am I understanding this correctly ?

Al

The data on the RR database listings is generally completely dependent upon and reflect what any given user submits.

Trunk systems CAN have primary (RED) and alternate (BLUE) control channels but if the user who submitted the information just doesn't know all of the information, they provide what they do know. Others can come along and make improvements to that information once it is known.

The control channel (data/signal) assigns radio users on the system a frequency when they want to talk.

A control channel will typically have constant data.