RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Site Administration Forums > Database Discussion Forum


Database Discussion Forum - This forum is for questions about the database such as how to use it, layout or usability issues or suggestions for improvement. It is not for pointing out wrong information or getting help with programming.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2017, 5:15 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 12
Default Input vs Output Frequencies

Maybe dumb question, but I'm trying to program Dallas County Skywarn frequencies in my scanner and in the RR database there are Input and Output frequencies listed. Which do I program? Is Output if I were "Transmitting"? Any thoughts? Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2017, 5:22 PM
davidzimmerman's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: parma,ohio
Posts: 1,474
Default Dallas County Skywarn

146.880 is what you program in the scanner to monitor them
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2017, 5:24 PM
awd awd is offline
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 15
Default

"Input" refers to transmitting radios' traffic going "into" the repeater to be rebroadcast out; "output" means traffic that's coming out of the repeater going out to listening radios. So program the "output frequency" in to monitor on a scanner.
__________________
Uniden BCD325P2
Motorola APX 6000 Portable (7/800)
Motorola APX 6500 Mobile (7/800)
RTL-SDR (x2) / Unitrunker / DSD+ / PDW

Last edited by awd; 04-06-2017 at 5:26 PM.. Reason: I didn't english very good the first time
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2017, 5:30 PM
davidzimmerman's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: parma,ohio
Posts: 1,474
Default

Which do I program? Is Output if I were "Transmitting"? Any thoughts? Thanks. (this to me maybe i read it wrong maybe wanting to program a radio just said to program a scanner?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2017, 5:37 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 12
Default

Thanks guys! Understand now. Do I program as AM, FM or NFM? Does 146.88000 have a PL code I shoud Program? Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2017, 5:42 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 6,654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidzimmerman View Post
Which do I program? Is Output if I were "Transmitting"? Any thoughts?
Input/output are referenced to the repeater. For a scanner you use output. For a real radio the receive frequency is output and transmit is input.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2017, 5:43 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Wichita Falls, TX
Posts: 6,654
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by txsrdking View Post
Thanks guys! Understand now. Do I program as AM, FM or NFM? Does 146.88000 have a PL code I shoud Program? Thanks in advance.
Use FM and no tone.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2017, 5:46 PM
davidzimmerman's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: parma,ohio
Posts: 1,474
Default

no PL tone listed maybe on 110.9
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2017, 5:50 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 12
Default

Thanks everyone!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2017, 5:51 PM
davidzimmerman's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: parma,ohio
Posts: 1,474
Default

i looked at 4 different web pages for Dallas County Skywarn NO PL tones are listed for 146.880
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2017, 8:16 AM
mcscanner's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Lewisville, TX
Posts: 548
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidzimmerman View Post
i looked at 4 different web pages for Dallas County Skywarn NO PL tones are listed for 146.880
If you want to talk on the repeater you are going to need 110.9. For scanning tones not needed. Maybe your references are directed at scanning.
__________________

The road goes on forever and the party never ends...
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2017, 9:36 AM
milf's Avatar
Careful, I CAN hear you!
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 11,359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nd5y View Post
Input/output are referenced to the repeater. For a scanner you use output. For a real radio the receive frequency is output and transmit is input.
Correct, for your mobile or HT, the TX Freq is the RX Freq of the repeater except for in talkaround/direct mode. For a scanner, you program the TX Freq of the repeater unless you are monitoring the input or direct/talkarounds.
__________________
Admin for AR, IN, LA, MS, and TN
PRO-92, PRO-92B, PRO-96 x 2, BCD396XT, BCD436HP+DMR
HT-1250 LS+, APX6000XE
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2017, 9:38 AM
milf's Avatar
Careful, I CAN hear you!
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 11,359
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcscanner View Post
If you want to talk on the repeater you are going to need 110.9. For scanning tones not needed. Maybe your references are directed at scanning.
For the INPUT (RX) freq of the repeater there is an tone of 110.9 Hz CTCSS/PL. For the Output (TX) freq there is no tone AKA - CSQ.
__________________
Admin for AR, IN, LA, MS, and TN
PRO-92, PRO-92B, PRO-96 x 2, BCD396XT, BCD436HP+DMR
HT-1250 LS+, APX6000XE
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2017, 5:50 PM
n5ims's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 3,593
Default

Be aware that the Dallas Skywarn nets on 146.88 are all RACES nets and you'll need to provide your RACES number to join and participate on the net as an active member. Station locations are also reported using grid coordinates, not the typical addresses, cross streets, MAPSCO grids, or GPS coordinates. Previously they accepted most of these, but have changed the rules to provide better locations to the NWS. There was just too much confusion with things like "Was that North Marsh Lane, or South Marsh Lane" and since Mapsco changed up their grid system the confusion was "What year is your MAPSCO" or "are those new or old grid locations".

Much of what you'll need is on the Dallas County RACES web site (Dallas RACES). You'll need to submit your application to your specific area's radio officer and have that approved (the list of radio officers are on the web site). There are also various requirements that a spotter must have prior to joining, such as have a valid ham license, a 2 meter radio capable of operation on the net(s), been to a recent NWS Skywarn training class (Basic required, Advanced preferred) and must have been within the most recent two years, completed some specific FEMA training classes, and several others (they're listed in the Requirements section of the linked to above web site).

Also be aware that although the Dallas County net is on 146.88, there are also nets for various cities within Dallas County. Depending on the city and/or incident there may be nets on the city(s), main county on 146.88 or both. Also note that some repeaters may use a PL tone during normal operation and may turn the PL tone requirement off during a Skywarn net (you can leave your radio set to transmit the tone, but will need it programmed for no tone on receive to hear the net). This is to eliminate PL related issues for folks sending reports on the important Skywarn nets. Your radio officer can provide details on specific repeaters and the training nets are generally a great way to confirm that your radio is correctly programmed for net operation prior to an emergency situation.

One other suggestion is to read through the most recent copy of the "Cloud Cowboy" reference manual, which is the general reference for emergency operation nets in the Dallas County area. A link to this is on that web site.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions