RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Site Administration Forums > Database Discussion Forum


Database Discussion Forum - This forum is for questions about the database such as how to use it, layout or usability issues or suggestions for improvement. It is not for pointing out wrong information or getting help with programming.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2017, 12:21 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Dalton,Ga
Posts: 67
Question Airports not being associated with Counties

Is there a way that when you download multiple counties using Uniden Sentinel's Load frequencies in a range, that it will put the Airports in the County they belong in? I have Airports listed by several different names or Call Letters that are scattered everywhere. I believe this could be corrected in the RR Database easily enough. Thanks.
__________________
Gary,
Uniden BCD996P2, BCD436HP, BCD536HP, Whistler TRX-1, TRX-2, WS1065, Pro-106, AOR AR8200MKII, Pro-2055, Pro-2066, Pro-2021
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2017, 12:49 PM
wa8pyr's Avatar
Technischer Guru
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gh6406 View Post
Is there a way that when you download multiple counties using Uniden Sentinel's Load frequencies in a range, that it will put the Airports in the County they belong in? I have Airports listed by several different names or Call Letters that are scattered everywhere. I believe this could be corrected in the RR Database easily enough. Thanks.
What area, specifically, are you referring to?

The general answer is that it depends in large part how the software interacts with the database, or how you tell the software to interact with the database.

With very few exceptions, airports in the database are associated with the county they're in (including Dalton Municipal Airport near you). However, if you're looking at ATC frequencies that cover multiple counties or even an entire state, those would be listed as regional or statewide rather than as a specific county.

Smaller airports have no specific assigned approach/departure frequencies apart from the wide-area ATC frequency for the area they're in. In addition, frequencies such as Unicom may be shared among several airports in different counties. I suspect one of these may be what you're seeing, and when you tell the software to load all frequencies in a range, it will grab all the airports using a particular frequency.
__________________
Tom Swisher, WA8PYR
Lead Database Administrator
PSR500/Pro197/Pro2035+OS535/BCD436HP/TRX-1

If I PM you about a submission, please reply promptly or your submission may be rejected.

Last edited by wa8pyr; 05-30-2017 at 12:55 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2017, 2:41 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Dalton,Ga
Posts: 67
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8pyr View Post
What area, specifically, are you referring to?

The general answer is that it depends in large part how the software interacts with the database, or how you tell the software to interact with the database.

With very few exceptions, airports in the database are associated with the county they're in (including Dalton Municipal Airport near you). However, if you're looking at ATC frequencies that cover multiple counties or even an entire state, those would be listed as regional or statewide rather than as a specific county.

Smaller airports have no specific assigned approach/departure frequencies apart from the wide-area ATC frequency for the area they're in. In addition, frequencies such as Unicom may be shared among several airports in different counties. I suspect one of these may be what you're seeing, and when you tell the software to load all frequencies in a range, it will grab all the airports using a particular frequency.
As you can see in the attachment, several airports are listed, but not under their counties.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Gary,
Uniden BCD996P2, BCD436HP, BCD536HP, Whistler TRX-1, TRX-2, WS1065, Pro-106, AOR AR8200MKII, Pro-2055, Pro-2066, Pro-2021
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2017, 5:04 PM
rwier's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,808
Default

Hi Gary,

Being fairly familiar with the Sentinel Software, I was confused by "... Uniden Sentinel's Load frequencies in a range ...". Also, using Sentinel Software, both for the HP-1 and the *36 pair, I am unable to get to a screen that matches your screen grab. Please instruct as exactly how one gets to that screen (your screen grab).

Thanks!
__________________
Rob, Phoenix, AZ since '40
996T, 396XT, 996XT, HP-1E (x3), 436HP, 536HP, 500, 600, and 800 (x2)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2017, 9:56 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Dalton,Ga
Posts: 67
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwier View Post
Hi Gary,

Being fairly familiar with the Sentinel Software, I was confused by "... Uniden Sentinel's Load frequencies in a range ...". Also, using Sentinel Software, both for the HP-1 and the *36 pair, I am unable to get to a screen that matches your screen grab. Please instruct as exactly how one gets to that screen (your screen grab).

Thanks!
Ok, I start Sentinel (this is for the 436hp/536hp), On the second tab from left, Click Edit, then third item down is Add Channels on Range. I click on that, choose my zip code, which sets the cooridinates, then I choose 50.0 mile range. I select the service types on the right side, and import to a favorite list. The attached screenshots show what I get and the order they are listed. As one can see, the Airports do not list in the counties that they should be in. Maybe someone can shed some light on this for me. I just think that the airports should be in the county as all other services are.
Attached Images
   
__________________
Gary,
Uniden BCD996P2, BCD436HP, BCD536HP, Whistler TRX-1, TRX-2, WS1065, Pro-106, AOR AR8200MKII, Pro-2055, Pro-2066, Pro-2021
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-30-2017, 10:30 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Dalton,Ga
Posts: 67
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8pyr View Post
What area, specifically, are you referring to?

The general answer is that it depends in large part how the software interacts with the database, or how you tell the software to interact with the database.

With very few exceptions, airports in the database are associated with the county they're in (including Dalton Municipal Airport near you). However, if you're looking at ATC frequencies that cover multiple counties or even an entire state, those would be listed as regional or statewide rather than as a specific county.

Smaller airports have no specific assigned approach/departure frequencies apart from the wide-area ATC frequency for the area they're in. In addition, frequencies such as Unicom may be shared among several airports in different counties. I suspect one of these may be what you're seeing, and when you tell the software to load all frequencies in a range, it will grab all the airports using a particular frequency.
Hello Tom. What I am saying is, if you will look in my post #5, the bottom screenshot, there are several airports listed that are not in their county "lists", but are listed all by themselves. The Amateur radio data always is listed as a "department" maybe under their County "System" if that makes sense. But the Airports are not, which makes it impossible to just Listen to one county "system" and hear all of that counties traffic. The area I live in is Whitfield County, Ga. If you look in RR database for Whitfield county, as most all counties I have looked at, you will see a Tab at the top for Amateur Radio. You do not have to do anything special when downloading or make any changes, and it automatically puts those Ham Radio frequencies where they belong. But it will not put the Airports where they belong. Thanks for your help and anyone else who may help.
__________________
Gary,
Uniden BCD996P2, BCD436HP, BCD536HP, Whistler TRX-1, TRX-2, WS1065, Pro-106, AOR AR8200MKII, Pro-2055, Pro-2066, Pro-2021
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-31-2017, 1:21 PM
wa8pyr's Avatar
Technischer Guru
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gh6406 View Post
Hello Tom. What I am saying is, if you will look in my post #5, the bottom screenshot, there are several airports listed that are not in their county "lists", but are listed all by themselves. The Amateur radio data always is listed as a "department" maybe under their County "System" if that makes sense. But the Airports are not, which makes it impossible to just Listen to one county "system" and hear all of that counties traffic. The area I live in is Whitfield County, Ga. If you look in RR database for Whitfield county, as most all counties I have looked at, you will see a Tab at the top for Amateur Radio. You do not have to do anything special when downloading or make any changes, and it automatically puts those Ham Radio frequencies where they belong. But it will not put the Airports where they belong. Thanks for your help and anyone else who may help.
Gary,

What you're seeing is a function of the software, not the database. All of the data in the database is made available to the software, but we have no control over how the software authors actually use or display that data.

Just as Amateur Radio data is listed under that tab, Airports are listed in each county under the "Other Agencies" tab which includes businesses and other services. As far as Whitfield County and the Dalton Municipal Airport, I confirmed that it is listed within the correct county; as a test, I used Butel's ARC536 software to confirm that I was able to select Whitfield County then retrieve and download only the Dalton Municipal Airport; it worked fine.

I think your only choice would be to delete the airport data you're not interested in, or perhaps restructure your query.
__________________
Tom Swisher, WA8PYR
Lead Database Administrator
PSR500/Pro197/Pro2035+OS535/BCD436HP/TRX-1

If I PM you about a submission, please reply promptly or your submission may be rejected.

Last edited by wa8pyr; 05-31-2017 at 1:30 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-01-2017, 11:07 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Dalton,Ga
Posts: 67
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8pyr View Post
Gary,

What you're seeing is a function of the software, not the database. All of the data in the database is made available to the software, but we have no control over how the software authors actually use or display that data.

Just as Amateur Radio data is listed under that tab, Airports are listed in each county under the "Other Agencies" tab which includes businesses and other services. As far as Whitfield County and the Dalton Municipal Airport, I confirmed that it is listed within the correct county; as a test, I used Butel's ARC536 software to confirm that I was able to select Whitfield County then retrieve and download only the Dalton Municipal Airport; it worked fine.

I think your only choice would be to delete the airport data you're not interested in, or perhaps restructure your query.
Ok Tom, this is what I get using ARC536. When I start Arc536, choose import from database, choose my state (Georgia) and then choose Whitfield County. As you can see, it will automatically load the Amateur Radio Frequencies, without having to go back in and search for them. I think the Database is where the Problem is. The airport is listed, but you have to know the Name of the Airport before you can go Search for it and then Download it as a separate file. I think when you choose to Download Whitfield County Conventional Frequencies, That it should Download ALL Conventional Frequencies INCLUDING Airports. All County Pages are set this way as far as I can tell. If you do not know the name of the airports surrounding you, you can not search the database for them.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Gary,
Uniden BCD996P2, BCD436HP, BCD536HP, Whistler TRX-1, TRX-2, WS1065, Pro-106, AOR AR8200MKII, Pro-2055, Pro-2066, Pro-2021
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-01-2017, 11:13 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Dalton,Ga
Posts: 67
Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8pyr View Post
Gary,

What you're seeing is a function of the software, not the database. All of the data in the database is made available to the software, but we have no control over how the software authors actually use or display that data.

Just as Amateur Radio data is listed under that tab, Airports are listed in each county under the "Other Agencies" tab which includes businesses and other services. As far as Whitfield County and the Dalton Municipal Airport, I confirmed that it is listed within the correct county; as a test, I used Butel's ARC536 software to confirm that I was able to select Whitfield County then retrieve and download only the Dalton Municipal Airport; it worked fine.

I think your only choice would be to delete the airport data you're not interested in, or perhaps restructure your query.
If you will notice in this Screenshot, You have to scroll all the way to the very end almost to Locate Tom B David Field. I am sure everyone knows where that is and what county it is in. No, they don't, It should be downloaded when you download the Gordon County File.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Gary,
Uniden BCD996P2, BCD436HP, BCD536HP, Whistler TRX-1, TRX-2, WS1065, Pro-106, AOR AR8200MKII, Pro-2055, Pro-2066, Pro-2021
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2017, 10:13 PM
wa8pyr's Avatar
Technischer Guru
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Ohio
Posts: 3,603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gh6406 View Post
Ok Tom, this is what I get using ARC536. When I start Arc536, choose import from database, choose my state (Georgia) and then choose Whitfield County. As you can see, it will automatically load the Amateur Radio Frequencies, without having to go back in and search for them. I think the Database is where the Problem is. The airport is listed, but you have to know the Name of the Airport before you can go Search for it and then Download it as a separate file. I think when you choose to Download Whitfield County Conventional Frequencies, That it should Download ALL Conventional Frequencies INCLUDING Airports. All County Pages are set this way as far as I can tell. If you do not know the name of the airports surrounding you, you can not search the database for them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gh6406 View Post
If you will notice in this Screenshot, You have to scroll all the way to the very end almost to Locate Tom B David Field. I am sure everyone knows where that is and what county it is in. No, they don't, It should be downloaded when you download the Gordon County File.
Gary,

The information is being downloaded in the appropriate county file. As I mentioned earlier, all of the information in the database is made available to the software (or the radio, as shown by the state file in one of your screenshots). This includes state and county associations, categories, subcategories, and so on. How the software providers or radio manufacturers use and display the data is outside our control.

In Sentinel, I had no trouble locating Tom B David Field (for Gordon County) and Dalton Municipal (for Whitfield County) listed under the "County Systems" section for each county.

As regards ARC536, airports, businesses and so on are "other agencies." Once you select the desired county, you have to click the Agencies button to access that information.

The information is there; you just need to work with each software package or radio to figure out where they display it during the import process. You may find it easier to create custom Favorite lists to further customize how you see the data.
__________________
Tom Swisher, WA8PYR
Lead Database Administrator
PSR500/Pro197/Pro2035+OS535/BCD436HP/TRX-1

If I PM you about a submission, please reply promptly or your submission may be rejected.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2017, 1:42 PM
rwier's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,808
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gh6406 View Post
Ok, I start Sentinel (this is for the 436hp/536hp), On the second tab from left, Click Edit, then third item down is Add Channels on Range. I click on that, choose my zip code, which sets the cooridinates, then I choose 50.0 mile range. I select the service types on the right side, and import to a favorite list. The attached screenshots show what I get and the order they are listed. As one can see, the Airports do not list in the counties that they should be in. Maybe someone can shed some light on this for me. I just think that the airports should be in the county as all other services are.
Hi Gary,

Thanks for taking the time to explain this to me. I was searching the help/manual options for "Load frequencies" instead of "Add Channels". That being said, I also get unsatisfactory results using this function/feature of the software.

First, just a pet peeve concerning this software feature. To "Add Channels on Range", one must uncheck so many "Service Types" for each experiment it becomes very bothersome. Why couldn't the software open with no STs checked, or allow mass unchecking of STs (Windows Functions)?

Tests:

1) Selecting my Zip and 50 miles Range and ONLY the Aircraft ST, returns a single Airport (Deer Valley) located about 6 miles away. There are actually at least 11 airports in that range that can think of. Said single return enters the FL under Airports Maricopa County.

2) Selecting my Zip and 50 miles Range and STs Aircraft, Federal, Military, Other, and Transportation, returns two airports. The same one as Test 1 together with "Luke Air Force Base", which is entered in the FL under United States Air Force (3D6).

Both of these results reflect nothing resembling the actual airport situation within 50 miles of my location. A very interesting and valuable feature if it would work correctly.

Thanks again!
__________________
Rob, Phoenix, AZ since '40
996T, 396XT, 996XT, HP-1E (x3), 436HP, 536HP, 500, 600, and 800 (x2)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 06-04-2017, 9:26 AM
DaveNF2G's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Rensselaer, NY
Posts: 8,360
Default

If you right click in the Service Types menu, I believe there is a popup menu with selections to enable or disable all.

EDIT: Just checked in Sentinel - the feature is there.
__________________
David T. Stark
NF2G WQMY980 KYR7128
ARRL VE & Registered Licensing Instructor
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 06-04-2017, 1:51 PM
rwier's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,808
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveNF2G View Post
If you right click in the Service Types menu, I believe there is a popup menu with selections to enable or disable all.

EDIT: Just checked in Sentinel - the feature is there.
Thanks Dave! I see it also works for QKs (same option screen).
__________________
Rob, Phoenix, AZ since '40
996T, 396XT, 996XT, HP-1E (x3), 436HP, 536HP, 500, 600, and 800 (x2)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions