Xjf493

Status
Not open for further replies.

mciupa

When they applied for a license for their station to broadcast, they were assigned that alpha-numeric.

ve1sef

You ask a good question. When I joined the local VFD at home in 1974. It was drilled into I our heads
that at the start of any transmissions to use our "call sign"
"XJH-535 Mobile 3 this is XJH-535 Base".
I've been a Ham Operator since 1994, and I am required to use my call sign, when I transmit.
However, in recent years I have noticed that this regulation is being ignored by a lot of dispatch centers.
So, if you hear a mobile or base station using a call sign it means the users are operating in
accordance to regulations established by the CRTC and/or Industry Canada.
Incidently, this is why AM/FM stations and TV networks usually identify themselves every 30 minutes
or so.

Last edited:

VA3DBJ

Ontario Database Admin
Database Admin
I don't know if it is a case of being ignored, per sa. The regulations also permit the callsign to be transmitted via morse at the repeater. Most of the repeaters in use now, will transmit the callsign in morse by default.

But there are still a lot of radio users that don't do either and IC doesn't have the resources to hunt them down.

VA3DBJ

Ontario Database Admin
Database Admin
Just for those who haven't read the regs on call sign usage, here is an exerpt from RIC-15:

4. Call Sign