Scanner Options

Status
Not open for further replies.

pwyoung

I could use some help on picking a Scanner.
I am looking for one to follow town police and opp.
One that can be updated with software or add on's that is below the $1000. price range.
I am sure you can tell I am new to scanners so any help with picking a scanner would be great.
Thx in advance.
pwyoung

69stiles

I've got a mix of Uniden & Radio Shack. Both Are programmed with software. Since you need OPP then you will need a digital scanner. The RS pro-96 (handheld) & pro-2096 (base) are easy to use but lack the features the Uniden radio's have. The Uniden 996(base) & 396 (handheld) are awesome radio's loaded with features. It does take awhile to learn these though but well worth it. I just bought the analogue versions. I've bought all my radio's on ebay.

pwyoung

Radio Options

How well do Aloinco,Aor,Icom work with opp and town police scanning most of the info I can find are on Uniden units.
pwyoung

jellotor

Well, which town police are you referring to? You can pretty well rule out Icom and Alinco scanners doing trunktracking and to listen to the OPP in most of the province you'll need a P25 digital scanner that will do Motorola Type 2 VHF trunking.

pwyoung

Radio Options

I am looking at the Perth Town and Opp as well as Kaladar Opp and Ottawa if possible.
Pwyoung

mbstone99

Scanner

If you want to scan the OPP then you should go with either the Pro 96 or Uniden Bearcat 396T. As for Ottawa.. all you will be able to listen to for the Public Safety stuff is the Fire on the Ottawa City trunk or the EMS on Fleetnet, not sure if they have migrated up there yet though. The police in Ottawa are Provoice Digital and there is not a scanner that can decode that type of digital modulation.

Matt

mciupa

pwyoung said:
I could use some help on picking a Scanner.
I am looking for one to follow town police and opp.
One that can be updated with software or add on's that is below the $1000. price range.