Difficulty Identifying a Component from Circuit Board

Status
Not open for further replies.
I want to start out by saying I am not experienced with the internals of electronics, so I will probably sound stupid. I was recently given an 1971 vintage sound system consisting of a Sansui 800 solid state amp, a Pioneer turntable, and a Teac A-2050 reel to reel player. I have used the amp as a receiver for a while now, and I finally cleared room for the reel to reel machine. After I hooked everything up, I fired it up, and the sound was pretty good aside from needing to clean the heads. The problem started about 30 minutes later when it started smoking. It still worked when I shut it off. I removed the back and found what I believe to be a capacitor smoking. I very carefully de-soldered it from the board, but I can't figure out what I need to replace it with. The markings do not match anything I have found online thus far, and I really hope someone with more expertise in this can help me. I will attach a picture, but in case it is not clear, the markings read:

400AC
0.1 M

I appreciate any help I can get.

Attachments

• capacitor.jpg
    capacitor.jpg
    9.9 KB · Views: 346
That was kind of what I was thinking. I tried googling the markings on it and came up with nothing, then I tried to research how capacitors are marked and ended up more confused than ever. I want to order one of those sets that has several different rated types, I am sure I will probably need more than one, but I can't for the life of me figure out what the markings mean on this thing, so I don't know what to order. I am a much better lawn mower mechanic.

pro92b

Mutated Member
Premium Subscriber
The photo is too out of focus to be any help. The markings you listed suggest it is 0.1uF 20% 400Volts AC, maybe. Is it connected to the AC line?

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
400AC is probably the voltage rating--400VAC max.
0.1M would be the capacitance rating, probably 0.1 microfarad.