FBI question

Status
Not open for further replies.

coz

Premium Subscriber
I see FBI frequencies in NYC on the database page that state P25 transmission and 167 NAC tone. Does this mean that they are encrypted and we can't listen to them? Thanks I'm a rookie at this.

texasemt13

CenTex DBA
Premium Subscriber
No. The modes are:

D= digital (P25 is monitorable)
A= analog
E= encrypted (no one can listen)

Welcome to RR.

kma371

QRT
No. The modes are:

D= digital (P25 is monitorable)
A= analog
E= encrypted (no one can listen)

Welcome to RR.

"A" and "E" are only listed within trunked systems so that doesn't apply.

Most FBI transmissions are encrypted however

kennyblues

Keep in mind that monitoring most federal agencies is unlike monitoring the local PD & FD. Most Fed agencies operations will occur during business hours, Monday thru Friday from 9-5. Of course certain operations due occur at night and weekends and sometimes 24-7. Sometimes everything will be encrypted and then sometimes everything will be in the clear. Program the listed frequencies in and give a month or so, see what you get, also try your search feature from 162-174 & 406-420.

coz

Premium Subscriber
Thanks very much for the info. Maybe OT but I'm trying to figure out what scanner/receiver to buy and i was trying to see what I would listen to first. I'm in NYC and was turned on to the new PSR800 with the included database and trucking ability. However, i kind of like the AR2300 as a wideband receiver that would do everything. Do you guys use a dedicate scanner and is a wideband receiver like an AOR a bad idea for VHF scanning etc? thanks

procopper7005

Premium Subscriber
So much fed traffic is simplex such a mobile surveillance operations, marshals moving around, etc. For longer range comms so much is done on cell phones, nextel, etc.

So it all depends on where you are and what you can catch. You would surprised whats in the open.

W8RMH

Feed Provider Since 2012