Car radios superior AM/MW reception

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kellxr7

I am a rookie so bare with me. I am wondering why the most basic automotive receivers can pick up AM so much better than a Tecsun PL680 or Grundig Satellit 750 or Eton Field & if there are any parts I could take out of an car radio to transfer to one of these radios to help them? For example, My work van is a 07 Ford E250 & has a base model am/fm radio & it can pick up AM from 100+ miles away no problem where my Radios listed above struggle to get many of them or wont even register a few of them. Even in the city where there is a lot of noise they still come thru in the work van, I took my PL680 with me a few times to compare & went out of the city where there was less interference, the PL680 still struggled & the van signal was loud and clear, I tried the same with one of our other shop trucks, a 2003 Ford superduty & its AM reception was even better. Is there a larger or better quality ferrite rod antenna in these radios that my shortwave radios might benefit from? I have a Factory ford radio that I removed from my 04 F150 laying around that I could tear into if there is any benefit. The main reason I ask is because a lot of times I travel up north fishing etc where there is very little radio to listen to & can only receive am or sw. & I would like to have a stronger AM signal without setting up external antennas etc. I am especially disappointed with my Grundig Satellit 750s reception.

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
I would like to have a stronger AM signal without setting up external antennas etc. I am especially disappointed with my Grundig Satellit 750s reception.

The lack of an external antenna is the problem, not parts in the radio. Focus your research on finding a radio that can connect an external antenna, and an antenna that receives the frequency band(s) you're interested in. Internal antennas always significantly compromise performance.

prcguy