Modern ambulance comms

Status
Not open for further replies.

scanmanmi

I used to be an EMT in the 80's and here's what we had. Of course we had a rig radio with pushbuttons for PLs for 155.34 to the hospital. We also had a jump kit with a headset that went to a repeater in the rig. We used to send EKGs as a low audible tone that got graphed at the hospital (so we tried not to talk when transmitting EKGs). Just wondering how things have changed. I know they can do voice from anywhere on MPSCS.

Nasby

Cell phones.

155.340 was busy into the early 1990's but is now non existent in my area.

ofd8001

Premium Subscriber
There is still a lot of voice traffic in our area. In the Louisville area the traffic is encrypted on new system. Every now and then you'll hear an outlying ambulance or medical helicopter call-in for medical control on "older" frequencies.

Many ambulances use air cards for data transfer, which would include EKG.

KB7MIB

In the Phoenix, AZ metro area, ambulance to hospital comms are mostly via cell phones, although paramedics with the various departments and districts under the Phoenix FD RDC, if not the private ambulance medics as well, have access to encrypted talkgroups on the Regional Wireless Cooperative P25 system, as well.

The Arizona Department of Public Safety (DPS, Highway Patrol) used to maintain the statewide EMSCOM system, which included numerous repeaters statewide on the UHF medical band channels. They discontinued that system several years ago due to little use being made of it.

John
Peoria, AZ

SteveC0625

Order of the Golden Dino since 1972
Premium Subscriber