Uniden 996P2 Scanner Firmware

Status
Not open for further replies.

RoninJoliet

Premium Subscriber
Has anyone purchased this scanner where they received the radio with the new firmware installed 1.07.09...My last one I got from the Ham Station and they upgraded it no charge and now there gone...I'm not good at doing this and I don't want to "brick "it....TY

UPMan

In Memoriam
Premium Subscriber
There is no way to permanently brick one of our scanners by performing a firmware update.

RoninJoliet

Premium Subscriber
Thank you Paul, but I'm a old guy with programming by hand and poor computer skills....

RoninJoliet

Premium Subscriber
Does the cable that comes with my 996P2 and 325P2 work to update the firmware in these scanners and do I also have to download the drivers and install them in my Windows 10 ....TY

iMONITOR

Silent Key
Premium Subscriber
Does the cable that comes with my 996P2 and 325P2 work to update the firmware in these scanners and do I also have to download the drivers and install them in my Windows 10 ....TY

Cables come with the scanner. Windows 10 automatically supplies the required drivers. Easy peasy! :)

Nascar18

Premium Subscriber
If your not looking to upgrade the scanner to DMR I would leave it be. I update the firmware on my 996P2 and lost the RISCON P25 digital system. I didn't pursue why the upgrade didn't work, just went back to what I had. Also if you do try the update some ISP don't allow you to connect to a FTP site. I had to adjust the Xfinity cable modem security setting for it to work.

ff2sherman

Premium Subscriber
Has anyone purchased this scanner where they received the radio with the new firmware installed 1.07.09...My last one I got from the Ham Station and they upgraded it no charge and now there gone...I'm not good at doing this and I don't want to "brick "it....TY

the firmware is all good,

RoninJoliet

Premium Subscriber