Does scanner proximity to my WiFi router have an effect on reception

Status
Not open for further replies.

Unforgiven_AF

I'm new to all of this, but one thing I have noticed is my new BCD536HP doesn't seem to have the same pickup that my old radio shack scanner did when it sat in the same spot with more or less the same antenna (~30" telescopic metal thing, I know, I know, I'm doing my best to learn the terminology :eek: ). I've already decided a better antenna is in my future, so I'll read and ask about that when the burn money is available. :D

Anyway, I have both my router (Netgear Nighthawk R8500) on the same table as my 536. The scanner antenna is roughly 24" away from the routers (4 active antennas, 4 internal antennas). Would that have any impact on the scanner reception? If so, would it be a major impact?

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Yes. Especially if the router is generating any RFI outside the WiFi bands. Which is common for digital devices to do. The impact could be anything from minimal to completely drowning out the desired signal, depending on the frequency.

Unforgiven_AF

Yes. Especially if the router is generating any RFI outside the WiFi bands. Which is common for digital devices to do. The impact could be anything from minimal to completely drowning out the desired signal, depending on the frequency.

That would explain a lot. Thanks (why is there no thanks button here?) I have some shuffling to do then as I'll need to move my cable modem and router. It will have to wait as I am testing a new modem tonight.

bob550

Premium Subscriber