Newbie with out a scanner again!! please help

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello All,

I have now for the second time returned my scanner to Uniden in Texas. I was given a BCT8 as a Christmas gift and it was a refurbished model. It was accepted back and I was promised a Brand New BCT8 like was originally ordered for me. Well surprise, surprise I again get sent a refurbished model. My father, the purchaser of the scanner decided to get his money back because they told him the would have to do an "inventory check" and didn't know how long it would be before it finally received what he ordered over 2 months ago!! So I am coming to all of you now saying I am just starting out, love listening to scanning but don't have a lot of money to put into it at this time... Does anyone have any suggestions on what to get and from where?

Again Please help and Thank you all!!

n211cr

What exactly are your interests in monitoring? I would have to assume the city of Pittsburg which would require a Trunking capable scanner but being a Motorola Type II, it would not necessarily mean the newest out there. There are many options available. Are you looking for a base or a handheld unit?

N8IAA

FFextinguisher said:
Hello All,

I have now for the second time returned my scanner to Uniden in Texas. I was given a BCT8 as a Christmas gift and it was a refurbished model. It was accepted back and I was promised a Brand New BCT8 like was originally ordered for me. Well surprise, surprise I again get sent a refurbished model. My father, the purchaser of the scanner decided to get his money back because they told him the would have to do an "inventory check" and didn't know how long it would be before it finally received what he ordered over 2 months ago!! So I am coming to all of you now saying I am just starting out, love listening to scanning but don't have a lot of money to put into it at this time... Does anyone have any suggestions on what to get and from where?