Newbie Looking for recommendations to get started...

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmkc1207

greetings..I recently retired and will be spending a lot more time @ home and am interested in purchasing a scanner. I am not sure if this is the correct forum for my first post but I plan on becoming a regular & purchasing a premium account in the future..I try to do my homework first (which is how I wound up here!), and am pretty good @ researching what I need but the scanner world is confusing indeed!..I am a total newbie but have read the Wiki info and have a general idea what I want..I have a few questions but don't want to bore the readers with a bloated post so I'll be general to start...I'd like to listen mainly to New York State- Albany/Rensselaer/Saratoga County transmissions, police,fire,emergency type posts..I'm wondering if its worth it to spend the extra money on a digital trunking scanner as they seem so much more expensive..I don't mind the extra bucks if I'm not obsolete 2 or 3 yrs down the road, but don't want to waste money on features that a casual listener doesn't need either..also there seems to be a big difference in pricing on "pre-programmed" models...I'm comfortable around computers and I'll do whatever homework necessary to try & become proficient so I'm wondering if,as a newbie, I should buy a pre-prgrmd model or purchase software after the fact..I haven't decided on a handheld or base model but for my analog needs and budget I'm prone to

handheld:Uniden BC246T
base: uniden BCT15 or BC898T

and for digital:

handheld: Uniden BCD396T
base: Uniden BCD996T

(if this part would be better served directly in the Uniden forum itself, please ignore)

thanks for any info, I'm looking forward to having fun and being a part of this community in the future!..any suggestions greatly appreciated!

patrick911

Hi and welcome in this wonderful world that is scanning