New at this... can only pick up the weather

Status
Not open for further replies.

old_wizard

Hey folks,

I'm in Savannah, Chatham County, Georgia and I just bought a Whistler WS1010. I'm brand new to this and I can't seem to get this scanner to pick up anything but the weather radar. Weather comes through crystal clear.

I've programed in many of the local frequencies found in the database here to no avail. The best I can get (outside of the weather) is static. I've done about everything I can do with the squelch. Tried it out about 2 miles from my house with no better luck. What could be the problem here? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you

hiegtx

Mentor
Premium Subscriber
Hey folks,

I'm in Savannah, Chatham County, Georgia and I just bought a Whistler WS1010. I'm brand new to this and I can't seem to get this scanner to pick up anything but the weather radar. Weather comes through crystal clear.

I've programed in many of the local frequencies found in the database here to no avail. The best I can get (outside of the weather) is static. I've done about everything I can do with the squelch. Tried it out about 2 miles from my house with no better luck. What could be the problem here? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you
Welcome to RadioReference wizard.

Looking at Chatham County in the database, it looks like most everything is listed as conventional, most within the range that your WS1010 should be able to hear.

However, I wonder if that database page is in serious need of an update. Looking at the trunked systems in your county, I see this one:
https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=6694
(Jon already noted that)