what is the equation for bands?

Status
Not open for further replies.

mparker

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 1.6; en-us; T-Mobile G1 Build/DRC83) AppleWebKit/528.5+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.2 Mobile Safari/525.20.1)

I remember whille I studied for my tech there was a math equation that you multiply the freq by to get the band...

I am having a hard time remembering the band layout and freqs....

mparker

Wirelessly posted (Tmobile G1: Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 1.6; en-us; T-Mobile G1 Build/DRC83) AppleWebKit/528.5+ (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.2 Mobile Safari/525.20.1)

Ok so say I wanted to know what band 147.0000 is...

300\147= 2.05xxx. So its 2m ? That's easy..lol. any hints for remembering hf,vhf,uhf etc...

kb2vxa

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
You'll have to memorize them if you want to pass the test. Figuring out what band you're in won't cut it, you have to know where your privileges allow you to operate.

"Print out and keep the ARRL Band chart handy as a reference."
While they allow calculators cheat sheets are frowned upon.

Last edited:

texasemt13

CenTex DBA
Premium Subscriber
You'll have to memorize them if you want to pass the test. Figuring out what band you're in won't cut it, you have to know where your privileges allow you to operate.

Well looking at his signature I'd imagine he already passed the test. Besides, as long as you pass the test, what's wrong with keeping a couple aids handy to be able to confirm what a fallible mind might imagine it knew (as mine does quite often)? Do you remember every frequency/offset/tone you'll ever need? I sure as hell couldn't.

WayneH

Forums Veteran
Super Moderator
I've cleaned up this thread. Lets please stay open-minded. We are all different and excel with memory, common sense, or whatever in our own ways.

Nubz