RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > GMRS / FRS

GMRS / FRS - Discussions related to GMRS (General Mobile Radio Service) and FRS (Family Radio Service) communications

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-31-2018, 6:38 PM

Default NMO Antenna continuity / isolation problem?

Greetings all, complete newbie to all things radio, researched for a few weeks and settled on a GMRS system for my vehicle.

I'm installing a Midland MXT400 and paired it with the MXTA10 3db gain antenna. I've got my antenna cable ran to my NMO mount and have confirmed solid ground of the mount, as well as good circuit isolation between the NMO mount center pen and the threaded mount, as well as the vehicle. I've also checked at the radio end, the PL-259 has isolation between positive and ground, and has continuity with the ground and vehicle ground. So it appears that the cable and mount are fine.

So I went to measure SWR with a Kalibur SWR meter designed for a CB system. After adjusting the system to Low power, and adjusting for the needle to hit the Set at the end, I switched it to Ref and hit transmit and it immediately redlined. Now after that happened (and an immediate bad electrical smell from the SWR) I've done more research and I expect to be told that this SWR meter is no good for GMRS or for the wattage of this unit, or both. BUT...