GRE PSR-300 - Unsatisfied

Status
Not open for further replies.

smurphy

I've been lookng for a scanner to carry around the house and use in the car. I'm a firefighter and need something to monitor other agencies as I respond.

I have a 10 year old maxon 2 way radio in my car and a 15 year old yaesu portable at home for monitoring.

I did quite a bit of research and choose a PSR-300. If I liked it I was probably going to order the mobile version for my car.

I received the PSR-300 last week and have been unsatisfied!

The audio always has a hiss similar to white noise and the range is quite a bit less than expected.

At home my old yaesu portable has better range.

In the car I tried connecting to an external two-way antennae, which helped quite a bit, but again still not up to the maxon in the car. My primary freq range is 154.43

So... Did I get a low performing scanner or is this standard performance for the PSR-300.

This is a great site!
Thanks for your help.

Steve

mtindor

OH/WV DB Admin
Database Admin
Steve,

One thing to keep in mind, a dedicated business band radio _usually_ has better sensitivity and selectivity. To compare a scanner to any commercial radio probfably is not realistic.

Also, depending on the frequencies you are listening to, the default antenna may not be up to snuff. I routinely purchase antennas that are specific for the band I will monitor the most.

I don't own a PSR-300/400 so I can't vouch for its sensitivity, but if it's anything like it's big brother it should have great sensitivity across the board (at least when compared to other scanners).

If I were you I'd make sure you don't have the ATT (attenuator) turned on, either globally or on individual frequencies (if the radio has an ATT - and i imagine it does).

If I were you, I'd also consider swapping out the antenna with an antenna for the band you are mostly wanting to listen to (although that would mean a sacrifice in performance on other bands).