PSR-800 Pros/Cons

Status
Not open for further replies.

xzebra008

I am a newbie to the newer digital and trunking scanners. Just got an old outdated Bearcat and want to upgrade. This is one reason why the PSR-800 attracts me as it looks easy to program for someone that has never programmed trunking systems and all the digital stuff.

With that said what do you like/dislike about the PSR-800?
To those that own it...would you re-buy it now that you have owned it for a while - why and why not?
Should I look elsewhere?
How hard is it to use without the traditional keypad of a portable?

Thank you so much for your help,it is appreciated.

mke65

Great scanner

Get the 800 you will be disappointed

Having the ability to update channels by zip or city is a huge convenience

Also love the record option

pirate6955

Premium Subscriber
i think he means wont be disappointed ;-)
if you listening to trunked stuff its probably the way to go.
i would buy another in a heartbeat.

orpcat

Premium Subscriber
Pros:
Can navigate in darkness without backlight on keyboard
Able to record a single talkgroup or any number of talkgroups.
Able to carry the entire RR database with you!
Able to alpha tag radio ids
Able to program 200 V-Scanner files (Very Cool!)
200 scanlists
20 scansets (any combination of scanlists)
Very sensitive on 800 mhz (great if you are in a rural area or away from cell towers)
Small case
Nice display
Nice belt clip
700mhz

Cons:
Lack of keyboard ( I don't miss it unless I am mobile and would like to enable/disable scanlists)
Too sensitive on 800mhz ( not good if you live close to cell towers)
No remote control (This is a big mistake! What are you thinking GRE!)
Can be confusing to program if you are new to scanners
Can be confusing to program if you have extensive experience with scanners
There is a learning curve! Once you get it no problem.
LCD display screen can easily scratch.
Paint rub off problems on some scanners