Why is EZ-Scan/iScan Software so limited.

Status
Not open for further replies.

wise871

Database Admin
I'm new to the EZ-Scan/iScan based scanner and have been using the software for over a month now and I'm still in awe on why it is missing the most basic of features. As it stands now I can see why the software turns off many users from even purchasing or keeping these scanner. I love the scanner, I just hate the software.

I have read most post since the PSR-800 was released about the lack of Stationary or Roam options. I never found if it was a hardware or firmware limitation? Even though this is lacking, there are work-arounds. My grip is with the lack of simple functions like Move Up, Move Down, Cut, Copy and Paste, Sort Order, etc. I did read that the reason behind this was preventing users from obtaining or copying the Radio Reference database and sharing it or using it in other scanner software. Some of the above functions have nothing to do with database piracy. As we all know anybody with Microsoft Excel can just go to the web sight and copy to there hearts content. For users who own the radios not to be able to copy the own files is crazy. Every other scanner software allows you to do this.

I was working on some files last night in EZ-Scan (WS-1095) making changes to some of my talkgroups, adding the correct LED color etc. It sure would have been nice to copy my own work into iScan (Pro-668) which I also own so I would not have to duplicate all that work. I know some of you use MS Excel as you master template but even it does let you copy those additional settings.

Again they are great scanners that are software limited. I know some folks who refuse to purchase these scanners just because of the software and I'm sure that hurts sales. Why couldn't the software have more of the features of Win500. They are very similar.

marksmith

You can use your 1095 files directly on your 668. You don't need to do any cut and paste either.