Scanner Suggestion for Simi Valley, CA Police Scanning

Status
Not open for further replies.

Funone

Hi. I am new to Digital P25 Trunked Scanning or monitoring this environment and used to use an Analog Scanner for years and loved it. My research is indicating that most Trunked areas deal with Simulcast Distortion issues. I was hoping to find someone in this Forum from Simi Valley or experience with the area and can recommend a model scanner. I was hoping to not have to go with the most expensive model being the Unication G5 Pager or Uniden SDS100, but really needed some local advice from real users in my area. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

KevinC

Other
Super Moderator
I moved you question here for better local assistance.

Engine104

Member since 2005
I live in the SFV, but I monitor Simi PD, as well as Ventura County Sheriffs. Ventura County is building a P25, Phase II trunked system, but it is probably a few years away from completion. You can find a discussion on it here: https://forums.radioreference.com/g...7-800-phase-i-p25-trunking-system-2020-a.html

In any case, not all trunked systems suffer from simulcast distortion. I'm not sure if the new Ventura Co system will be simulcast or not.

It's not clear that Simi PD will join the new system when it comes online. It may be a moot point by then because more and more of their digital transmissions are encrypted.

Do you currently own a digital scanner? If so, I'd say stick with that one for now and keep an eye on here about progress on the Ventura Co trunked system. It may be a few years off. Also, it's not clear if the new system will be simulcast or not. Some of the other guys on here may have better info on that than I do. If it isn't going to be simulcast, any P25, Phase 2 scanner should work fine.

Funone