RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Harris / MA/COM / GE / Ericsson Forum

Harris / MA/COM / GE / Ericsson Forum - For general discussion of MA/COM EDACS and ProVoice systems, including equipment.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-18-2017, 2:44 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 222
Default How many trunked systems?

What is the Trunked system limit numerical value in a Harris radio feature menu? Is it 255 or 65535? I've seen a radio displaying TRKSYS: 65535?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-21-2017, 10:53 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Florida, where you wish you were!
Posts: 2,389
Default

The true maximum is, I think, 1024 systems even if the radio says 64K.

The reason is that the software can't handle more than 1024 unique system names or 1024 unique talkgroup names.
__________________
No, I will not program your radio for you. No, I will not give you any software. Don't ask unless you want a rude answer.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-22-2017, 5:00 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 222
Default

Is the radio supposed to display 255 or 65535 TRKSYS if it has MAX SYSGRP?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Yesterday, 8:43 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Florida, where you wish you were!
Posts: 2,389
Default

Not sure. I've seen 65K for EVERYTHING displayed on an engineer's toy radio, but 1024 is really the max for the reasons mentioned above.

Apparently there is some difference between "official" and "real" limits.
__________________
No, I will not program your radio for you. No, I will not give you any software. Don't ask unless you want a rude answer.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Yesterday, 11:21 PM
Radioman96p71's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Polk County, IA
Posts: 1,016
Default

Here is a page with the limits outlined in the RPM documentation. I haven't had the patience to put all 1024 systems in a radio to see if it will allow it, but i can say that ProGrammer would absolutely not let you PROGRAM more than 255 channels, but would happily let you have way more in a personality.
__________________
N0MB
------------------
Adam K
Polk County, Iowa
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Today, 7:21 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 222
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElroyJetson View Post
I've seen 65K for EVERYTHING displayed on an engineer's toy radio.
That explains it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions