RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Harris / MA/COM / GE / Ericsson Forum


Harris / MA/COM / GE / Ericsson Forum - For general discussion of MA/COM EDACS and ProVoice systems, including equipment.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2018, 3:58 PM
firefightergreg's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Default M7100 / Orion Downgrade / Programming issue

Few months ago I started to try this radio and couldn't get very far. Well I may have toasted it. I followed the steps to downgrade the firmware (I think but like it said it was a few months ago).

Currently the radio has a blank screen when I power it up.
When progamming cable is attached it shows PC Prog
When I try to create system and upload it via Programmer I get "Invalid Radio ID"
Model of radio is read of the sticker -- D2UMG7.


Where do I go from here? Is the radio hosed?


So to update - Trying to install the firmware.

Using file R0P08B05.BIN
Hit recovery in radio maintenance and I've selected file: 0G30400.BIZ
Program asks me for erase tracking data.. I hit yes
I then select tracking data file M7100 UHF-H.Trk
Tracking data has different version from version loaded, continue? I hit yes
Asks for encryption data file. This I do not have. I can only hit cancel. How do I get this file?

It never asks for a DSP file either, is that weird?

Thanks again in advance!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2018, 6:29 PM
rescue161's Avatar
KE4FHH
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hubert, NC
Posts: 3,138
Default

You should not have deleted the tracking data. Now the radio will need to be aligned. The Feature Encryption is what tells the radio what features are installed. If you don't have that, then the radio won't have any features. To do a roll-back, you pretty much need to have access to the version of RPM that it was programmed with to extract all of the data. Without that, you are stuck with a featureless radio. You can try to call TAC to see if they will help you with the last feature encryption file, but I doubt they'll help unless you have an account.
__________________
Hams Against Magnetic Mounts
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-12-2018, 7:20 PM
firefightergreg's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Yikes. The radio was cheap on ebay.... Like $20 cheap so if it doesn't work im' not out a super amount a money. When you say features, all i care about a tx and rx. Is that a feature?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-13-2018, 10:50 AM
kb4cvn's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nowhere near a paved road, away from the maddening world.
Posts: 804
Default

D2UMG7 is an Orion mobile, 440-470 MHz bandsplit. NOT an M7100.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-13-2018, 8:42 PM
kb4cvn's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nowhere near a paved road, away from the maddening world.
Posts: 804
Default

Greg,
What exactly are you trying to downgrade in the radio?
Are you trying to revert it from windows programming software (Radio Programmer) to the original DOS software?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-14-2018, 9:45 AM
firefightergreg's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kb4cvn View Post
Greg,
What exactly are you trying to downgrade in the radio?
Are you trying to revert it from windows programming software (Radio Programmer) to the original DOS software?
It was not being read by Programmer so I think it was programmed with RPM. I just want to get a few channels on here.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2018, 8:53 AM
kb4cvn's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nowhere near a paved road, away from the maddening world.
Posts: 804
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by firefightergreg View Post
It was not being read by Programmer so I think it was programmed with RPM. I just want to get a few channels on here.

The Orion is not supported by RPM. Only the original DOS software (EDACS3 and CONV1) and Radio Programmer.

Can you provide a photo of the model number label of the radio? A D2UMG7 is an Orion. You might be able to recover it. But it will take a good bit of work on your part with a computer...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2018, 7:02 PM
firefightergreg's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8
Default

One last update - I got things to work;

I spent the day off trying over and over - I looked at the comment that this is not m7100.. So I started loading and trying every .trk file until I got one to work. Well it happened to work. Then I was able to get Programming to load a system into the radio.

I'm just using it for ham stuff. It appears to hit my local repeaters.

Thank you thank you thank you everyone!!!


I'm sure I'm going to have more questions in the future.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2018, 7:30 PM
rescue161's Avatar
KE4FHH
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hubert, NC
Posts: 3,138
Default

You may be able to give Harris TAC a call to see if they will tell you what features are suppose to be in the radio. If you are lucky, they'll give you the feature string. Right now, you have a bare-bones radio. Depending on what features the radio had in it before it got erased, you could have a nice radio.
__________________
Hams Against Magnetic Mounts
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-16-2018, 12:11 PM
kb4cvn's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nowhere near a paved road, away from the maddening world.
Posts: 804
Default

Don't forget, as a default function (unless you intentionally disable it!), every radio connect to, and communicate with has its feature and tracking data automatically archived. Look in the BACKUP folder, filed under the radio's ESN number.

You might already have the two files you need...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions