RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Harris / MA/COM / GE / Ericsson Forum


Harris / MA/COM / GE / Ericsson Forum - For general discussion of MA/COM EDACS and ProVoice systems, including equipment.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-01-2018, 10:42 PM
Was: OakvilleCub
   
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Halton
Posts: 9
Default programming error Harris P7100

hello, I am trying to program a harris portable, and get a message that radio not acknowleging check connection etc. I can read a profile in the radio, but not system, ids, freqs etc. I hold down the
3 buttons when i turn it on and I get all black bars. I am using a ribless cable direct to my serial port com port.

I made sure I have the proper port, model number 800 system, etc,


any thoughts?

cheers
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-02-2018, 9:57 AM
Forts's Avatar
Mentor
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Strathroy, Ontario Canada
Posts: 5,519
Default

That doesn't make sense... you say you can read the profile but not the info? The info is in the profile. What version of ProGrammer/RPM are you using? Real serial port or USB-Serial adapter? I've found some of my radios are very fussy about what PC I use and what type of serial connection.
__________________
Middlesex County/Strathroy-Caradoc Fire Paging Alerts: http://groups.google.com/group/middlesex-fire
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-02-2018, 12:04 PM
Was: OakvilleCub
   
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Halton
Posts: 9
Angry programming error

ok,

here we go:

I can read the information from the radio using the "data extractor", but when i try and read the radio I get
"could not intialize radio, make sure radio is in programming mode and the programming box or cable is
connected to the correct port"


I have held down all three buttons when I turned it on and I do get rows of solid black squares so I
believe I am in the programming mode.


I am using the standard serial connection, no rib box needed.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-02-2018, 12:17 PM
kb4cvn's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nowhere near a paved road, away from the maddening world.
Posts: 764
Post Personality Lock

Secured Personality file, requires Personality Lock, a Cryptocard (smart card) with the correct 256 bit key.


If you go look at the Personality Data Tree, you will see little yellow padlocks on the secured radio systems in the personality.

See image below:

Last edited by kb4cvn; 04-24-2018 at 1:16 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-02-2018, 12:24 PM
Was: OakvilleCub
   
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Halton
Posts: 9
Default programming error

thanks but I can't even find the personality tree
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2018, 9:19 AM
Forts's Avatar
Mentor
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Strathroy, Ontario Canada
Posts: 5,519
Default

Have you been able to read/write this radio before?
__________________
Middlesex County/Strathroy-Caradoc Fire Paging Alerts: http://groups.google.com/group/middlesex-fire
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2018, 9:23 AM
Was: OakvilleCub
   
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Halton
Posts: 9
Default

no. i was given the radio and software. i purchased the cable on line. i am yse to motorola stuff. thx
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2018, 11:08 AM
kb4cvn's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nowhere near a paved road, away from the maddening world.
Posts: 764
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by penthousedude View Post
thanks but I can't even find the personality tree

What revision of RPM are you running?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2018, 9:43 PM
Was: OakvilleCub
   
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Halton
Posts: 9
Default p7100 programming

hey there,


I have version R10B07 (10.2.1.7 )


i was looking how to get into the tree as suggested above, but I don't even see that under view in the

menu bar.

cheers
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-11-2018, 5:59 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Florida, where you wish you were!
Posts: 2,598
Default

I'd imagine that this little glitch was fixed years ago, but once upon a time, if personality lock was enabled, older versions of RPM could still save the file and allow some readability of it IF you made ANY edit to an editable field. Simply changing the name of a single channel, system, or talkgroup then allowed the file to be saved.

When I discovered this I laughed for a while.

It didn't give me full access to all the data in the personality but at least I could save it.

I suspect that glitch was fixed long ago.
__________________
No, I will not program your radio for you. No, I will not give you any software. Don't ask unless you want a rude answer.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-11-2018, 7:07 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bletchley Park
Posts: 1,667
Default

Did you try it withOUT holding all three buttons down? Just power on the radio normally and try to read it.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2018, 8:40 AM
Was: OakvilleCub
   
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Halton
Posts: 9
Default

i have tried both ways, without holding buttons I do immediately get the "program" word in the radio window
but i still get the error "could not inialize radio"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions