RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Harris / MA/COM / GE / Ericsson Forum


Harris / MA/COM / GE / Ericsson Forum - For general discussion of MA/COM EDACS and ProVoice systems, including equipment.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2018, 1:06 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Florida, where you wish you were!
Posts: 2,370
Default M7300 hangs on Feature W(rite) and errors out

I bought a feature for one of my M7300s.

I've been through this process before. I know how to do it. I've practiced it.

I've got the new feature string data for the radio, I enter it, and I upload it to the radio.

After a bit, the RPM maintenance utility says programming complete.

But the radio display is still showing Feature W(riting) and stays there. If I reset the radio or jump it, it shows an Error 551, invalid feature string.

Even trying to revert to the original feature string, same thing happens.

The utility program thinks the radio's done when the radio is still busy.


Wow, I can not believe how many times this nonsense has happened with Harris radios in my experience. I really DO hate to have to try to reprogram or update a Harris radio because I expect this nonsense to happen, because it often does.

I've used two separate laptops that have not been changed in any way since the last time I've successfully reprogrammed this same radio. I even reset their clocks back a year just in case it might be a time and date limitation issue. (Never heard that it could be, but maybe it's a Harris version of a Y2K bug. Hey it was worth a shot.)

I'm using a factory original Harris programming cable and I've even gone so far as to install the radio in my mobile radio installation, which works perfectly and last time I reprogrammed that radio it went smoothly.

Got any ideas?

Other than tossing this garbage out and going back to Motorola? They may have their faults but never have they ever done insane things during programming like Harris radios.
__________________
No, I will not program your radio for you. No, I will not give you any software. Don't ask unless you want a rude answer.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2018, 1:18 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Florida, where you wish you were!
Posts: 2,370
Default

The problem has now progressed to a full LOST MRU error.

Why anyone would waste millions on a system full of garbage radios like this is beyond my comprehension.
__________________
No, I will not program your radio for you. No, I will not give you any software. Don't ask unless you want a rude answer.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2018, 1:26 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Durham,NC
Posts: 38
Default

I am not sure if this will help, but when I downgraded my p7100 I had a similar issue with incorrect feature string. It was suggested to me to remove the trailing 0's off the string and that fixed it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2018, 1:47 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Durham,NC
Posts: 38
Default

I found this, maybe some help https://forums.radioreference.com/ha...-lost-mru.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2018, 5:45 PM
DisasterGuy's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Maryland Shore
Posts: 1,122
Default

I have had plenty of Harris issues but this one (hanging when updating feature string) is new to me. Due to the Lost MRU symptom, do you have a Terminator on any open CAN port?

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-29-2018, 11:25 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Florida, where you wish you were!
Posts: 2,370
Default

Yes, the CAN terminator is present on one port.

The setup for programming was as simple as possible to avoid undesirable interactions. (Like that helped!) Mobile radio connected to power, front panel programming cable (serial port) connected to mic connector and RS232 port on the same trusty reliable Dell laptop I've used for a few years now. Nothing else in between to interact with the signal.

When I had no success with that, I moved the radio over to my car and substituted it for my own M7300 mobile which adds a remote control head to the mix. That has been a reliable configuration that has never had any programming issues. But it did when I moved the target radio into it!

The radio was originally installed in a CS7000 console. After programming it in the console failed, I took it out for the second round and moved it to my car for the third round. It was there when the error progressed to the Lost MRU error.
__________________
No, I will not program your radio for you. No, I will not give you any software. Don't ask unless you want a rude answer.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-02-2018, 7:19 PM
kb4cvn's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nowhere near a paved road, away from the maddening world.
Posts: 817
Post

For the list, attached is what I could find on short notice on the NO MRU issue.


TSM32-02B
M5300 & M7300 permanently displays "NO MRU"
February 1, 2012



I have already forwarded a copy of the PDF to ElroyJetson in a separate e-mail.


I don't know if it is the solution to his issue, but it is a starting point.


Mark C.
Attached Images
File Type: pdf TSM32-02B.pdf (100.3 KB, 43 views)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-02-2018, 9:04 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Florida, where you wish you were!
Posts: 2,370
Default

I've seen that TSM before. Given what was going on during attempts to program the radio with the new feature string, I tend to believe that it's a firmware/software glitch and not the issue in the TSM, but I'll find out. Going to try to recover the radio from the rear serial port which doesn't connect thru the control head.
__________________
No, I will not program your radio for you. No, I will not give you any software. Don't ask unless you want a rude answer.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-03-2018, 2:30 PM
kb4cvn's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Nowhere near a paved road, away from the maddening world.
Posts: 817
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ElroyJetson View Post
I've seen that TSM before. Given what was going on during attempts to program the radio with the new feature string, I tend to believe that it's a firmware/software glitch and not the issue in the TSM, but I'll find out. Going to try to recover the radio from the rear serial port which doesn't connect thru the control head.



Start from scratch....


What firmware files are in the beastie?


BOOTAPP..........
BURNAPP..........
ECP/XGP...........
MCU code in control head......





I thought you mentioned it was programmed with RPM R10b07.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-16-2018, 9:30 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York North Carolina and all points in between
Posts: 2,404
Default

While I am not very familiar with Harris products and there was some talk of J-Tag the radio, can you just remove the e-prom from the radio, read it and blow it into another e-prom? Is there more than one? While rather extreme maybe a method for making multiple radios with the same feature string.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-16-2018, 9:23 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Florida, where you wish you were!
Posts: 2,370
Default

Yeah, sure, let me pull that specialized eprom reader fixture out of my lunchbox.....
.....I don't think so.


Won't work anyway. Multiple radios with the same feature string means only one will have the desired features. The string is just one piece of data used to generate the desired features. It's concantenated with the ESN and maybe other data to derive a valid string. Nope, not happening.
__________________
No, I will not program your radio for you. No, I will not give you any software. Don't ask unless you want a rude answer.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions