RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Harris / MA/COM / GE / Ericsson Forum


Harris / MA/COM / GE / Ericsson Forum - For general discussion of MA/COM EDACS and ProVoice systems, including equipment.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2018, 7:04 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 961
Default Scanning two systems

Just curious if Harris radios like the XG-75 or P7300 can scan talkgroups from two separate systems. For example, if you are on a Provoice system and want to scan channels or a P25 system in your radio can the radio jump back an forth between the two systems?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2018, 7:04 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 952
Default

No


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2018, 8:16 PM
MSS-Dave's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Generally Central Florida
Posts: 339
Default

You can't do system scan on Harris?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-05-2018, 8:17 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 952
Default

He’s talking multi system scan like a Motorola


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-08-2018, 10:01 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 10
Default

A Harris can not scan two different trunked systems at the same time. You can only scan within the selected (registered) system.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-16-2018, 4:59 PM
cifd64's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Northern Passaic County, NJ
Posts: 557
Default

I always create a wildcard system. it works well. But no, you cannot scan across systems, regardless of type (conventional/trunked)/.
__________________
“You have the NIFOG – that’s your interoperable communications plan.”
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2018, 4:00 PM
   
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: 100 yards west of the east branch of the Antietam
Posts: 4
Default

Can a Motorola APX8000 do this?
My understanding is that to scan across multiple (2,3,4 or more) p25 systems on different bands is that the scanning radio (whatever brand) has to log on to the p25 system, scan the channels selected, log off, log on to the next p25 system, scan the channels, log off, log on to the next system, etc. making the p25 system's administrator go crazy with the logging on, logging off multiple times a minute.
Is this correct?
Thanks,
Onelick
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2018, 1:14 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Henderson, NV
Posts: 68
Default

Can I create a scan list with analog conventional channels and P25 trunked channels? Or does that constitute two different systems?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2018, 4:46 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Bletchley Park
Posts: 1,739
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cifd64 View Post
I always create a wildcard system. it works well. But no, you cannot scan across systems, regardless of type (conventional/trunked)/.
What’s a wildcard system? Can you do a wildcard TG on a Harris?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2018, 4:48 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 952
Default

No you can’t.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-18-2018, 7:58 PM
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: South Texas
Posts: 162
Default

You can not because these radios are not scanners. They were not designed for it.
__________________
BCD436HP, BCD536HP, BCD996P2.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-18-2018, 10:06 PM
MSS-Dave's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Generally Central Florida
Posts: 339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Onelick View Post
Can a Motorola APX8000 do this?
My understanding is that to scan across multiple (2,3,4 or more) p25 systems on different bands is that the scanning radio (whatever brand) has to log on to the p25 system, scan the channels selected, log off, log on to the next p25 system, scan the channels, log off, log on to the next system, etc. making the p25 system's administrator go crazy with the logging on, logging off multiple times a minute.
Is this correct?
Thanks,
Onelick
Based on some of the answers in this post that was specific to HARRIS radios, I would suggest moving your question about. APX8K to the Motorola forum.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11-18-2018, 10:09 PM
MSS-Dave's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Generally Central Florida
Posts: 339
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n4njj View Post
Can I create a scan list with analog conventional channels and P25 trunked channels? Or does that constitute two different systems?
Harris? IDK. Motorola? You most certainly can. They are 2 different systems and it will be slow though.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions