RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Harris / MA/COM / GE / Ericsson Forum


Harris / MA/COM / GE / Ericsson Forum - For general discussion of MA/COM EDACS and ProVoice systems, including equipment.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2018, 1:03 AM
SlipNutz15's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mifflintown, PA
Posts: 458
Default EDACS on Motorola radio

I've seen a forum post somewhere that says you CAN monitor an EDACS system with a Motorola radio but something about wide-WACN setting hex edit?

Can this actually be done for a non-affiliate scan an EDACS system with an APX?
__________________
G. Stottle KB3THR
http://www.centralpascanner.com
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2018, 2:39 AM
riccom's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jackson, Mississippi
Posts: 1,033
Default

ahhh no, reason being its like a English man talking to a puppy, the puppy is edcas and the man is mot 2 while in non trunking, yeah you can hear the voice, but can not follow, both are apco 16 compliant, but wont work.
__________________
Rd-5r pro-2062 bf-8hp beojie 218 bc335c qyt 8900D and a partridge in a pear tree!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2018, 6:57 AM
MikeOxlong's Avatar
Forums Manager/Global DB Admin/Commie
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Central Ontario
Posts: 10,225
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlipNutz15 View Post
I've seen a forum post somewhere that says you CAN monitor an EDACS system with a Motorola radio but something about wide-WACN setting hex edit?



Can this actually be done for a non-affiliate scan an EDACS system with an APX?


Short answer is no unless you monitor the voice channels conventionally but you'll hear all the traffic and the beeps.

You're mixing up a few different technologies though.

A WACN is a P25 trunking term. EDACS is an ancient trunking technology that has nothing to do with P25 trunking.
__________________
Mike.

Sorry but I don't accept PM's. Please use email instead.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2018, 1:04 PM
SlipNutz15's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mifflintown, PA
Posts: 458
Default

Mike, yeah I couldn’t find the post about it. Maybe it was a Harris system that post was about. Does that make sense if it was a Harris System?
__________________
G. Stottle KB3THR
http://www.centralpascanner.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2018, 1:09 PM
riccom's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jackson, Mississippi
Posts: 1,033
Default

Now Harris is full p-25(thank God opensky was a joke) and there edacs was a very very good system, it took a lot of money to keep up, but the return was sound.

Sent from my 5049Z using Tapatalk
__________________
Rd-5r pro-2062 bf-8hp beojie 218 bc335c qyt 8900D and a partridge in a pear tree!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2018, 1:10 PM
SlipNutz15's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mifflintown, PA
Posts: 458
Default

Ok. That’s my question then. How to monitor a Harris system on a Motorola radio. Not OpenSky.
__________________
G. Stottle KB3THR
http://www.centralpascanner.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2018, 1:12 PM
riccom's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jackson, Mississippi
Posts: 1,033
Default

Ok buy a scanner on eBay with triple trunking they are less then 100 bucks

Sent from my 5049Z using Tapatalk
__________________
Rd-5r pro-2062 bf-8hp beojie 218 bc335c qyt 8900D and a partridge in a pear tree!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2018, 1:13 PM
SlipNutz15's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mifflintown, PA
Posts: 458
Default

Nope. Thanks.
__________________
G. Stottle KB3THR
http://www.centralpascanner.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2018, 1:14 PM
riccom's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jackson, Mississippi
Posts: 1,033
Default

You can not, as posted before by myself and others.

Sent from my 5049Z using Tapatalk
__________________
Rd-5r pro-2062 bf-8hp beojie 218 bc335c qyt 8900D and a partridge in a pear tree!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2018, 1:17 PM
SlipNutz15's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mifflintown, PA
Posts: 458
Default

There was a large post about it and having to force some system wide setting check box in the CPS for it to be able to monitor Harris. Not EDACS. I mistyped.
__________________
G. Stottle KB3THR
http://www.centralpascanner.com
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2018, 1:18 PM
riccom's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jackson, Mississippi
Posts: 1,033
Default

What model of Motorola is the radio

Sent from my 5049Z using Tapatalk
__________________
Rd-5r pro-2062 bf-8hp beojie 218 bc335c qyt 8900D and a partridge in a pear tree!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2018, 1:19 PM
SlipNutz15's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mifflintown, PA
Posts: 458
Default

APX7000 and or APX7500
__________________
G. Stottle KB3THR
http://www.centralpascanner.com
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11-03-2018, 1:20 PM
riccom's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Jackson, Mississippi
Posts: 1,033
Default

Set it on conventional, and find the dac code, and make sure not to affiliate with the system or it will get bricked

Sent from my 5049Z using Tapatalk
__________________
Rd-5r pro-2062 bf-8hp beojie 218 bc335c qyt 8900D and a partridge in a pear tree!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2018, 2:10 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York North Carolina and all points in between
Posts: 2,406
Default

NAS still works on APX radios, look for that post.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2018, 2:46 PM
62Truck's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Uranus
Posts: 1,391
Default

Scanner or Unication G4 or G5.
__________________
Lions, Tigers, Bears....
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2018, 7:12 PM
SlipNutz15's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mifflintown, PA
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radioman2001 View Post
NAS still works on APX radios, look for that post.
Thank you but I was pretty certain the codeplug needed modified in an editor to allow it to monitor a Harris TRS because there was a check box that needed enabled and by default it wouldn't allow it to enabled.
__________________
G. Stottle KB3THR
http://www.centralpascanner.com
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2018, 8:18 PM
rescue161's Avatar
KE4FHH
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hubert, NC
Posts: 2,746
Default

The Harris system that I manage has Motorola radios on it and they will work with NAS.
__________________
Hams Against Magnetic Mounts
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2018, 8:21 PM
SlipNutz15's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mifflintown, PA
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rescue161 View Post
The Harris system that I manage has Motorola radios on it and they will work with NAS.
I'm going to message you if you don't mind.
__________________
G. Stottle KB3THR
http://www.centralpascanner.com
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 11-07-2018, 10:36 PM
BigLebowski's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Piedmont NC
Posts: 334
Default

You are talking about the "Validate NAC to System ID" box. It works but your results may vary with NAS on Harris systems.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 11-08-2018, 7:21 AM
jhooten's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Paige, Republic of Texas
Posts: 1,352
Default

Rarely seen in the wild, Motorola did do SP versions of the Astro Saber and trunking Maxtrac (I think, it has been awhile) for a government contract that would do EDACS.
__________________
Jerry

I read it on the internet, so it must be true.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
apx, harris, motorola, non-affiliate

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions