Grundig 750?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tony3d

Hi all I'm new to this whole thing, and this site, so wasn't sure where to post . I'm thinking of getting back into SWL, and was looking at the Grundig 750. Can you give me your thoughts on this receiver? Thanks.

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
I know we've got more than a few members that have used or have this radio, so I'll let them chime in, but here are a couple of online reviews...(links are always blue)

Grundig eton Satellit 750 - Tecsun S-2000 Review - N9EWO -

Eton Satellit 750 Product Reviews

For USD350 (that's about what Universal Radio is selling this radio for), you can do better - a good Software Defined Radio can run you less than that, and you'll get better performance. We have an extensive article in our wiki on the subject, with links for models, reviews and lots more...

SDRs with HF Coverage - The RadioReference Wiki

The SDRPlay is very popular, and costs just under half what the 750 does...Mike

Tony3d

Thanks for the info. Can't seem to find the 750 in stock anywhere. Like to buy it from Fry's, they have it for $299.00, but it's never in stock. What gives? Why is this radio so hard to find?

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Universal has it for a bit higher, about 350. As does Ham Radio Outlet for the price you mention (albeit with some promotions and coupons)

Mike

majoco

Stirrer
Personally I wouldn't buy any modern Grundig. Have a look at the reviews...

Grundig Satellit 750 Product Reviews

Get a look at the Tecsun S2000 - it's the same radio made in the same factory but without the Grundig hype and the Grundig markup. While you're on the Tecsun website get a look at the PL 600, PL880 and others in their newer range. Read the EHam reviews of those as well.

Yes, I know that reviews are written by people who hate them or love them.

PrimeNumber