Sony 7600gr and external loop antenna

Status
Not open for further replies.

kb8viv

Hello everyone,

Looking for something portable, I purchased a 7600gr which I should be receiving next week. My question is regarding the use of external antenna's. Can I use the 7600gr with my 80 meter loop? My concern is that the sony outputs a dc voltage from the ext ant jack and hooking it to my loop - may present a short to the ant jack; I'm no electrical engineer but I imagine the radio won't like that, LOL.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

73's de kb8viv.

ka3jjz

Wiki Admin Emeritus
Well there are 2 issues here

The dc from the external antenna jack is meant to power an active loop such as the Sony AN-LP1 (I'm told you can find these on FleaBay sometimes). The easy fix for this would be to put an electrolytic cap in line - say .1uf at 10-25vDC (larger voltages wouldn't hurt anything).

Next is the 80 meter loop.

Warning - sarcasm mode on

Really?

sarcasm mode off :.>>

No portable is going to be able to handle the amount of RF that antenna is going to present. Not even close. Overloading is a very real possibility here. And I doubt the attenuator (the control is on the side of the radio) would present enough attenuation to handle this.

Fortunately there is a fix - a simple little box you can throw together in less than a hour if you have the parts in your junk box...

http://forums.radioreference.com/receive-antennas-below-30mhz/295299-great-first-timer-project.html

Now I know you would have to increase the pot's value - probably to 15-25k to get sufficient attenuation. The big plus here is that you can put the electrolytic right across the output jack, and not have to modify your feedline one bit. Apart from the static protection, this little box is nice and portable, and with a little ingenuity, could handle a lot of different feedlines.

Mike

kb8viv

Hi Mike,