RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Hytera Forum


Hytera Forum - Discussion forum for Hytera radio equipment. Questions concerning their use on amateur radio networks and frequencies belong in the Digital Voice for Amateur Radio forum.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2018, 6:14 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 46
Question New purchase MD782G.....questions....

So I bought a new (used) Hytera last month.
It's running firmware: A3.05.10.001 (yea, I know it's old....)

CPS version: v8.05.06.08.002na
I finally got around to programming it, and I'm seeing the big light blinking green, but not hearing anyone. Well, sometimes I do, but most of the time, not.
Netwatch confirms some's talking on said talkgroup. I have RX groups programmed in the CPS
I put up a question on facebook. The answer was I need to click the box marked "Rx group including Tx contact" but it does not exist in my CPS.

so
This is my question(s)
1 If I get the new CPS, will it work with the radio as is?
Because
2 I tried to upgrade the FW but it said "The firmware version is beyond the upgradeable firmware v A3.05.10.001:" or something close to that.
3 Will I lose wideband? I have it now....
Oh, and where is the older firmware downloadable from? I cant find it anywhere!
Soooo, what do I do?
I will take guidance/suggestions.....
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2018, 9:30 AM
MSS-Dave's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Generally Central Florida
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctrmass View Post
So I bought a new (used) Hytera last month.
It's running firmware: A3.05.10.001 (yea, I know it's old....)

CPS version: v8.05.06.08.002na
I finally got around to programming it, and I'm seeing the big light blinking green, but not hearing anyone. Well, sometimes I do, but most of the time, not.
Netwatch confirms some's talking on said talkgroup. I have RX groups programmed in the CPS
I put up a question on facebook. The answer was I need to click the box marked "Rx group including Tx contact" but it does not exist in my CPS.

so
This is my question(s)
1 If I get the new CPS, will it work with the radio as is?
Because
2 I tried to upgrade the FW but it said "The firmware version is beyond the upgradeable firmware v A3.05.10.001:" or something close to that.
3 Will I lose wideband? I have it now....
Oh, and where is the older firmware downloadable from? I cant find it anywhere!
Soooo, what do I do?
I will take guidance/suggestions.....
I'll try to help. Yes, your F/W is old but should work on conventional DMR fine. I am using 8.05.06.008 and can program radios with V 5.xx OK. Since you see the busy light blink on activity but still dont decode audio, I'm going with a programming issue with your talkgroup.

What version off Firmware did you try to upgrade to? If you tried to go directly to 8.xx, that won't work. It will have to be stepped at least 2 times as you have to have 7.00 first to go above that.

Not sure if you will lose wideband if firmware is updated from that old version. I did on some of my stuff so I'm asking Hytera about that. Firmware isn't available publicly AFAIK.

"RX group including TX contact" in in newer firmware, probably at least 6.x. even if using 8.05 CPS.

Check this.... make sure your TX contact info is correct. Make sure your RX group has the TX contact in it. THEN, make sure in your Digital Channel you have the right RX group list selected. Assign that to the zone and see if that works.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2018, 7:27 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 46
Default

Well, I dedicated 4-5 hours to this today.
I'm now on FW version....A8.05.07.004
And I can now run CPS Version V8.05.05.008NA2 . I'm in my happy place.
Thanks for taking the time to reply Dave.

Hytera should keep these older FW updates somewhere accessible.
Here is a dropbox with some old files.
I asked the owner, he had no problem with me sharing.

https://www.dropbox.com/home/Hytera%...Cable%20Driver
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-23-2018, 9:27 PM
MSS-Dave's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Generally Central Florida
Posts: 302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ctrmass View Post
Well, I dedicated 4-5 hours to this today.
I'm now on FW version....A8.05.07.004
And I can now run CPS Version V8.05.05.008NA2 . I'm in my happy place.
Thanks for taking the time to reply Dave.

Hytera should keep these older FW updates somewhere accessible.
Here is a dropbox with some old files.
I asked the owner, he had no problem with me sharing.

https://www.dropbox.com/home/Hytera%...Cable%20Driver
Does it now work as expected?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions