RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > Hytera Forum


Hytera Forum - Discussion forum for Hytera radio equipment. Questions concerning their use on amateur radio networks and frequencies belong in the Digital Voice for Amateur Radio forum.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-08-2018, 8:32 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ponder Tx
Posts: 203
Default Buying to monitor commercial TRBO system

Hey guys, quick question. Instead of buying a expensive scanner just for DMR, would it be possible to program a DMR specific radio to monitor a commercial TRBO system.

My issue is that my 106 is not upgradeable for DMR and I dont have the need to upgrade to a new scanner other than wanting to monitor 1 TRBO system. With the information provided in the database, would it be possible to do what I want it to do? I saw in a older post (2015) where one of the forum members was able to do that on a DMR commercial system after obtaining all the information through DSD. I tried messaging him and have not heard back. I wasnt sure where else to put this other than a manufacturer specific forum and I have been looking at the Hytera radios for my purchase if this is possible.
__________________
jasday
Fort Worth Texas
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-08-2018, 8:38 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ponder Tx
Posts: 203
Default

https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=7096

This is the system in question.
__________________
jasday
Fort Worth Texas
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-08-2018, 9:00 PM
MSS-Dave's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Generally Central Florida
Posts: 336
Default

As it states that it's a Motorola Connect plus system, you won't be able to do anything with a Hytera radio.....
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasday View Post
https://www.radioreference.com/apps/db/?sid=7096

This is the system in question.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-08-2018, 9:03 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ponder Tx
Posts: 203
Default

Ok. IF I could find a TRBO radio, would I be able to program it as needed? I think I know the answer if they protect the TRBO programming software like the software for their public safety radios.
__________________
jasday
Fort Worth Texas
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-08-2018, 9:27 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Lauderdale County, MS
Posts: 69
Default Radio

Ok there are really only two ways to go about it... You can purchase yourself an updated scanner either Whistler with built in DMR or Uniden with the $40 DMR upgrade. The other way is get a MOTOTRBO or Hytera radio and enter the channels voice channels in as digital voice channels and assign them to a scan list (remember you must do both slots so program each channel twice, once for slot one and once for slot two).... then you assign all of those channels an RX list for the talkgroups you want to hear.... Hytera has psedeu trunk and would allow you to monitor both slots at the same time... A scanner is by far the best option is there is no way to program an Connect+ system as a monitor only as the system admin must add the serial number to the system controller. I work with a Connect+ system daily and have tried all methods just to see what works, the radios do miss transmissions all together at times, and often due to scan speed you will miss the first second of the transmission....
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-08-2018, 9:35 PM
MSS-Dave's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Generally Central Florida
Posts: 336
Default

Since you're now getting into "how do I program a Motorola Connect Plus radio", you should ask that in the Motorola forum. I don't do Motorola Connect plus so I can't answer your question.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-08-2018, 9:49 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ponder Tx
Posts: 203
Default

Thank you mswin_blake. I appreciate the info. So basically i can but I might as well bite the bullet. I was trying avoid spending any more than I needed to and wanted to get all the information I could before making that decision. Thank you sir.

Dont worry MSS-Dave, it wont need to go any further. I got the information I needed to make the decision of scanner vs commercial radio.
__________________
jasday
Fort Worth Texas
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions