RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Commercial, Professional Radio and Personal Radio > ICOM Land Mobile Radio


ICOM Land Mobile Radio - Discussion forum for ICOM land mobile radio equipment such as the IC-F series radios. Please do not post amateur radio topics here.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2018, 6:13 PM
   
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1
Default F1000S Locking up

Hey all,

A customer brought in a F1000s saying that very often the radio will lockup/freeze on them completely rendering it entirely useless until they power cycle. I asked if possible that the lock button was being accidentally hit and they assured me no. I've had it with me all day without turning it off and I'm not getting any issues however when I called him earlier he said another one of the radios (same model) is starting to do the same thing once they gave it to the guy who was using this one.

Curious if anyone has heard of this before? I'm suspecting there is probably some user error of some type since I can't seem to replicate the issue and its just the one guy having the problem. But hey I could be wrong.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2018, 7:12 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 927
Default

Have never heard of this issue. As you said, I find it kind of strange it's only one person having issues. I'd try to find out more info on what exactly is going on, like does the radio still TX/RX? what is he doing when this happens? Is it sitting in the charger on? etc.

Have them issue the problem radio to another person and see if the problem follows.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2018, 7:28 PM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: WTVLCA01DS0
Posts: 9,268
Default

I had a radio that did odd things once. Would turn on and off by itself, lock up, etc.

Turned out it didn't like the way it was grounded. It was mounted on the front of a pickup bench seat. Seemed to be related to static buildup.

A short jumper from the radio chassis to the body ground solved the issue. Now I do this on all radio installs, since it sometimes solves these unexplained type of faults.

I'd probably want to look at the install, especially if it was "self installed".
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2018, 7:36 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 927
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmckenna View Post
I had a radio that did odd things once. Would turn on and off by itself, lock up, etc.

Turned out it didn't like the way it was grounded. It was mounted on the front of a pickup bench seat. Seemed to be related to static buildup.

A short jumper from the radio chassis to the body ground solved the issue. Now I do this on all radio installs, since it sometimes solves these unexplained type of faults.

I'd probably want to look at the install, especially if it was "self installed".
I always say this, if the radio's DC ground was isolated, you'd eliminate all sorts of noise issues, ground loops, ground difference potential from the antenna, radio chassis, and DC power, etc. Life would be much better. I believe the old GE mastr II mobile's were like this.

Anyway, This radio the OP is talking about is a handheld.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2018, 1:18 AM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: WTVLCA01DS0
Posts: 9,268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 12dbsinad View Post
Anyway, This radio the OP is talking about is a handheld.
So he was.
I think what threw me was the old programming software for the IC-F1020 and IC-F2020 was called IC-F1000, or something like that.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2018, 7:13 AM
radio259's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 118
Cool

My shop F2000S would freeze up now and then. No tx no rx noting. Recycle power and OK. Not sure what solution was. Firmware??
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2018, 11:09 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 5
Default

Latest Firmware out for the F1000/F2000 series is Ver 1.6
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions