RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Illinois Radio Discussion Forum


Illinois Radio Discussion Forum - Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Illinois.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2016, 10:37 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Saint Anne, IL
Posts: 12
Default KANKAKEE METRO BUSES on police freqs

Why has Kankakee Metro bus services taken over the police frequencies?
Is this temporary. Any way to find those channels specifically?

If I lock them out will I miss police traffic?

Last edited by coynerl; 04-24-2016 at 10:37 AM.. Reason: spelling
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-24-2016, 2:53 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ILL
Posts: 2,747
Default

I can only hear Kankakee when the WX conditions permit and there on a analog trunk system....If you programmed it correctly in what ever scanner your using you should be able to separate the "TG's" so you don't hear the busses and just PD.....
__________________
RoninJoliet
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2016, 8:48 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Saint Anne, IL
Posts: 12
Default

I dont have the software for this scanner. Programmed manually using frequencies from this website.

Thanks for feedback. I will educate myself on your terminologies.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2016, 9:57 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 244
Default

Doing it by hand is nothing to be ashamed of, some times the programming software is harder anyways.

Did you recall programming in anything like talkgroups, or did you just end up putting in frequencies? If you managed to program in talk groups when you programmed in that analog trunking system, you can enable / lockout the talkgroups (TGID) that you do not want. If you programmed in the trunking system and have it on ID SEARCH option (depending on your scanner) it will pick up everything, and you can lock out what you want....If you just programmed in the frequencies w/o setting up a trunking system and are manually scanning the frequencies, you will have no say over what your scanner picks up.

With a trunking scanner, you will be locking out talk groups...not frequencies, in a trunking system.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2016, 12:41 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Saint Anne, IL
Posts: 12
Default

I did input manually. You make good sense. I will look into software. Thanks for feedback.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2016, 6:41 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 244
Default

You don't have to look into the software, i would just go step by step thru the manual and see if you can correctly program the trunked system in to it, and then the talkgroups you need.

Software requires hardware (programming cable), whilst brainpower just takes time.

go for it.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-25-2016, 10:03 PM
N9JIG's Avatar
Sheriff
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Far NW Valley
Posts: 3,630
Default

Did you program it as a trunked system or just put the freqs in raw?

Trunked systems share freqs with many users, they are not assigned to any one user.
__________________
Rich Carlson, N9JIG

Facts are facts but my opinions are my own and may not reflect those of whom I work for.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-04-2018, 7:20 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Saint Anne, IL
Posts: 12
Default KANCOM issues

Rich,
II have a new issue. And i always appreciate your feedback.

My BCT8 is not picking up Bradley or Bourbonnais traffic. I have the Butel Arch8 software and have downloaded the information for RR, it is set for trunking.

I get almost everything but those to municipalities.

I pretty sure its not my antenna because my BCD325 works fine at home.

I would like to get this working for my dad and fathers day gift.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-04-2018, 7:38 AM
N9JIG's Avatar
Sheriff
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Far NW Valley
Posts: 3,630
Default

According to the database you should be able to hear them, they are on the same system and it is supposed to be all analog still.

I have not heard of Bourbonnais or Bradley moving off the KanComm system or changed talkgroups etc. but I suppose it is possible.

Check the talkgroup ID's on the 325 and compare them to what you have in the BCT8. You can also try putting the BCT8 into Trunked Search mode to see if they changed talkgroups.
__________________
Rich Carlson, N9JIG

Facts are facts but my opinions are my own and may not reflect those of whom I work for.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cps, kankakee, metro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions