Need help programming for disabled person

Status
Not open for further replies.

btrout

A disabled, blind man in my church, Rex, has asked me to "fix" his scanner because it makes some odd squealing noises at times and he apparently is not happy with the types of municipal departments he is receiving on his radio. He has asked me to help because I am a tech-oriented person and he thinks I should be able to fix his problem. Listening to the scanner is one of his favorite things to do for entertainment.

He has a RadioShack Pro-96 scanner with the current DSP version: DSP-App:U1.4. He has the 800 MHz antenna upgrade. He lives in the Indianapolis, Indiana (Marion County) area on the west side of town. I recently purchased the RadioShack Scanner Programming Cable with trial software in order to see what currently is on his scanner.

Unfortunately, I know very little about scanners, what is available to listen to, and almost nothing about programming.

Rex tells me he would like to listen to just about everything his scanner can receive. I tried to get him to be more specific about this. So, he said he'd like to listen to Fire, Police (IMPD and others), Local Sherriffs, Ambulance, Schools' Security, Hospitals, and IndyGo buses.

I have tried to grasp an understanding of what is required to program these things in his scanner, but it begins to get overwhelming. Personally, I am not that interested in getting my own scanner and I certainly don't have the time for another hobby. But I really would like to help Rex and am willing to learn enough to program his scanner.

His scanner already has some programming that is done. On boot up the screen reads:
Programmed by
Scancat -Lit
888-722-6228

It appears that all 10 Banks have programming and the data appears similar to what I found on RadioReference.com for the Marian Co. area. However, Banks 0-3 were disabled in the scan.

Rex says he bought his radio about 2 years ago, but I think it has been longer.