No signal on Undiden BCD396XT

Status
Not open for further replies.

thatolkevin

I am brand new to DMA scanning, and have spent hours reading forums and wikis to no avail. I'd be much obliged for help.

I am trying to program my 396XT in Jeffersonville, IN, to listen to local transmissions. I set up a site with control and alternate channel frequencies from Floyds Knobs and Charlestown. I included the frequencies listed in RR's updated Indiana SAFE-T page, as well as frequencies listed at 800ta.org when I entered the call signs from the above-named towns. I also created a group and entered dozens of local decimal IDs.

The device scans continuously without receiving any signal, and I am at a loss for what to try next.

I have the most recent firmware.

Thanks in advance.

JStemann

Premium Subscriber
If you haven't already, you'll need to make sure the site is set for motorola rebanded and you'll need to do the custom bandplan. I have only done this with software, so i won't be much help if you're doing it manually. By far the easiest way to do this would be to use freescan software and import from radio ref database. You will still need to select moto rebanded, but other than that you should be up and running in a few minutes.

Jeff.

thatolkevin

It's working.

I did indeed need to apply the custom band plan. Found this information in an email after a Google search:

Band Plan Base Freq (Lower) Base Freq (Upper) Offset Polarity Spacing
1 851.025MHz 854.000MHz 440 + 25 kHz
2 851.0125MHz 868.9875MHz 0 + 25 kHz

Put it in and it worked. Thanks for the help, Jeff, and I hope this thread will be a time-saver to anyone who looks it up in the future.

Kevin
Jeffersonville, IN

W9NES