How is IMPD dispatched?

Status
Not open for further replies.

del1964

Premium Subscriber
I am new to Marion county and I know there's different IMPD districts. I hear comms saying for example "Man with a gun". "blah blah blah East", "blah blah blah South" Where "blah blah blah" is a number. Is this grid system equal for all of Marion county? Where is the center? Does the "center 0,0" change per district? Is there an easy way to quickly look up the location on a smartphone? Is there an IMPD map showing the NSEW grid system they use?

INDY72

Monitoring since 1982, using radios since 1991.
Each district is divided into subsections. 10, 20, 30 etc... Each district has an "Troop" so to speak assigned to it. Adam, Baker, Charlie, David, Edward, and Frank. Each subsection is assigned from 3 to 6 officers as their beat each shift. Each of the small towns that is now under IMPD is dispatched and patrols on the district it is in. Example: Beech Grove is in SE District, and is dispatched by IMPD SE Control. (Thy used to have their own dispatch center for BGPD and BGFD, but that was closed as one of the final parts of the merger into IMPD centralized dispatching. )

Over it all is an actual Primary Dispatcher who can dispatch all districts and towns under IMPD umbrella, with each district having its own Controller and the Sheriff also having its own Controller.

Almost all of IN is using the GPS coordinates based on a system much like Utah does with one point being the center of the map... For us, it is pretty much the intersection of Washington St, and Meridian St. North is North of Washington. South is South of Washington. East is East of Meridian. West is West of Meridian. IFEMS does it in a very similar method.

To an IMPD or MCSO, or IFEMS GPS unit, Indianapolis IS the center of the world. LOL

Last edited by a moderator:

AK9R

Lead Wiki Manager and almost an Awesome Moderator
Super Moderator